Page 1 of 2

cyc 3 cell 3 channels

Posted: Tue Sep 17, 2013 4:42 pm
by mat
I would like to create a fixture with my cycs(RGB).
I tried with cyc 3 cell 3 channels but the problem was that it uses channels that follow.
Same problem with RGB generic fixture.
And i my case I would like to have a RGB fixture with my cycs that are dimmer 40,70 and 55 for example, but i can't edit addr 2 and addr 3.

any fixture existing that could do that?

Re: cyc 3 cell 3 channels

Posted: Tue Sep 17, 2013 8:22 pm
by BobbyHarrell
Use the RGB fixture. However, you just need to do non-consecutive addressing.

Once the fixture type is assigned. Go into Patch by Output and type DIMMER @ FIXTURE (S4-Attribute) then pick the appropriate M key for the right color. Finish with ENTER.

Now rinse and repeat for the other dimmers.

Re: cyc 3 cell 3 channels

Posted: Wed Sep 18, 2013 2:16 am
by mat
a little tricky,but thank you very much again!

Re: cyc 3 cell 3 channels

Posted: Mon Sep 30, 2013 12:04 pm
by BrianEvans
I put a new fixture in the latest library.
Generic RGB Cyc 3 Channel - 3 Address
http://www.pathwayconnect.com/downloads/strandlibrary/

Reg is in Addr: 1, Green in Addr: 2, etc.

This will make it easier to patch to non-contiguous dimmers.

Re: cyc 3 cell 3 channels

Posted: Mon Sep 30, 2013 12:44 pm
by mat
that's great!

Re: cyc 3 cell 3 channels

Posted: Tue Sep 16, 2014 5:18 pm
by soundguy99
Hi Brian,
Sorry to revisit this post, Just updated the fixture list as with the 10.8.7 patch.
Anyway I have 4 3 channel RGB cyc fixtures, which the dimmers are non consecutive, so I put your 3 channel cyc profile in and for the most part it works great.
I did run into a bit of a snag however, because I am using RGB color space I switch modes to RGB, which then turns all 3 color channels to 100%. So I then have to dial all 3 channels back to 0 and then set my color.
Now normally that would n`t be a big deal directly except I am also grouping all of the cyc colors to 3 sub master so I can color mix all 4 cyc fixtures with 3 sub masters (Red Green Blue).Its still a nice quick way to do it on the fly. Even If I record all 4 reds togeather using your profiles, because I have to turn the other channels down from 100% to 0 it also records that change so that when I try to color mix on the subs, I can`t color mix with the subs, since it has saved the other channels at 0, and forces it to 0.
I suppose I could try recording only the 1 attribute and have the os ignore the changes I made to the other channels, I just thought there might be a better way to set it up so by default with a RGB Color space to have all 3 channels start out at 0%.
Even if there was a way to edit the profile to swap the 100% and 0.
I appreciate your Thoughts,
Thanks,
Soundguy

Re: cyc 3 cell 3 channels

Posted: Tue Sep 16, 2014 8:40 pm
by BobbyHarrell
Are you aware of the Attribute Control Look type option? That may help. However, just having Red in the sub and getting rid of Green and Blue at zero will also help.

The following release notes discuss it on the 10.8.3 release.

http://www.strandlighting.com/clientupl ... evised.pdf

Re: cyc 3 cell 3 channels

Posted: Tue Sep 16, 2014 9:32 pm
by soundguy99
Hi Bobby,
Thanks for that,
I do remember seeing the addition of those look types with the release of the update, but forgot about it, so I never really thought about it and its application until you reminded here now.
When I will get a chance I will definitely try it. Thanks for the reminder.
As for having the red in the sub master and getting rid of the green and blue, I am not quite sure I follow.
By default under that profile using a RGB color space all 3 channels are at 100%, and using HTP on the look types the Minuite I take any other color other than the one I want and then record it into the sub, the console will not only record the red fully up it will also record the changes made, in this case the 0 value on both the Green and Blue. So when I try and mix the 3 colors with the sub masters, turning up 1 color at a time is no problem, but however if I have the red at 100% and I want to slowly mix blue into it (using the sub masters), as I bring up the blue sub master it slowly turns down the red, because the Red at 0% that was recorded in the blue sub master ( as required by having everything at 100% by default in the profile) slowly takes over the red at a 100% in the red submaster, defeating the ability color mix using the sub master.
Although you get the benefits of the color picker and a few other things, it almost treats it like subtractive color mixing instead of additive.
If it was me I probably could deal with it, but the other lighting tech is very comfortable with the way things were with the sub masters reacting the same way, In fact we just had the cyc lights operating as separate dimmers, other this profile came out.
So I am just trying to keep everything the same for him but have the benefits of the color picker and the other bonus's.
I will play with the attribute look type, Thanks for reminding about that.
Thanks,
soundguy

Re: cyc 3 cell 3 channels

Posted: Mon Sep 22, 2014 5:54 pm
by soundguy99
Hi Bobby,
Ya tried that attribute control today and didn`t help me out at all. When I turned up the red it turned everything to 100% making the cyc white.
Is there anyway to edit brian's fixture profile or copy it and create a new one with so that in RGB Color space the deafult values are set to 0%.
Any advice you can give me would be great;y appreciated,
Thanks,
soundguy

Re: cyc 3 cell 3 channels

Posted: Mon Sep 22, 2014 8:52 pm
by BobbyHarrell
Did you get rid of all of the other attributes data in those subs? For example, Intensity should be in sub 1. Red ONLY should be in Sub 2, Green ONLY in Sub 3 and Blue ONLY in Sub 4. Otherwise, this solution doesn't work at all.