Page 1 of 1

Starting other apps

Posted: Wed Jun 13, 2012 11:01 am
by dwtech
I have been playing with century array, and I really like it. What I am wondering is what would be the best way to launch it? I can browse to it and run the file without an issue, but I don't really want some of my techs doing the same thing. Can it be added to the desktop, or the Palette launcher program thing? (that shows apps, system settings, etc) My board is running Vista. Is it possible to make it startup automatically?

Re: Starting other apps

Posted: Wed Jun 13, 2012 11:59 am
by BobbyHarrell
Not that I am aware. I keep thinking about a Auto Run cue list where there is a cue that would trigger a macro. Just not sure if a macro could launch an exe file.

Re: Starting other apps

Posted: Wed Jun 13, 2012 12:28 pm
by dwtech
Thanks. I found some different ways in the forums, but a lot of what I found there is for older OS's. Some of the windows tricks I know from my other life as a computer support person don't work either.

Re: Starting other apps

Posted: Fri Jun 15, 2012 10:57 am
by MickCrozier

Code: Select all

os.execute("D:\\PathToOpenPaletteApps\\centuryarray.exe")
Never tried it - but should work.

Re: Starting other apps

Posted: Fri Jun 15, 2012 11:35 am
by bnortin
I've tried that in an attempt to get it to run a VBScript file for triggering QLab (viewtopic.php?f=34&t=2968&sid=acddc0ecd ... 611e6b6af8)with no luck, I just assumed the os.execute command was limited to executing commands in the OS directory.

Re: Starting other apps

Posted: Wed Jun 20, 2012 8:39 am
by dwtech
It would be nice if there was some way we could add an app to the applications section of the .. umm.. not sure what it is called when you close palette and you have that menu thing with Apps, settings, etc on the screen.

Re: Starting other apps

Posted: Wed Jun 20, 2012 3:25 pm
by BobbyHarrell
That's the Control Panel. Good idea.

Re: Starting other apps

Posted: Sat Jun 23, 2012 9:29 am
by MickCrozier
I've tried that in an attempt to get it to run a VBScript file for triggering QLab (viewtopic.php?f=34&t=2968)with no luck, I just assumed the os.execute command was limited to executing commands in the OS directory.
Interesting... I'm sure I used os.execute to make directories in web folder when I did a rehash of the showreporter a few years ago.
I'll look into it...