Small Question on programing

Questions on Palette and Light Palette operation and features
Post Reply
soundguy99
Posts: 51
Joined: Tue Dec 28, 2010 8:09 pm
Primary Venue / Use: Professional Theatre
Where I Am: Manitoba Canada

Small Question on programing

Post by soundguy99 » Mon Jun 20, 2011 5:29 pm

Hi guys,
Sorry guys for these posts,
I am still having a little frustration over the way the console, responds in different areas of console, so I apologize these posts seem to appear amateurish.
Right now were currently using the various sub masters, as a way of short cutting programing the various cues. Ie Reds on Pipe 1 on one sub master, which may include 4 fixtures, and Reds on Pipe 2 on another sub master which include another 4 fixtures. Now after spending time, with the director recording all the cues, from the submasters, if on the second run through, she decides to change stage wash on a particular cue, lets say take the reds down to 50%, Currenty the way we have been doing it, is to release the cuelist, re setup the entire cue, with now the reds at 50% and now update the cue, which can be time consuming , if your having to change multiple cues.
Am I missing something or is there an easier way to do this.
I would like the ability to leave the cue running and in the case of turning the reds down 50%, just grab the appropriate sub master, turn it up to get control of them and the proceed to turn the reds to 50% and then just re-update the cue, having the console leave everything else untouched only updating, the changes made with the submaster.
I understand that if the reds were already at 50% and the change was to bring them up to full thats probably much easier than to go the other way around.
I have trued using the LTP on the submaster, however from what I have experimented with seems to apply between submasters, not between submasters and cuelist.
Escentially what I am wanting to do, is with a bunch of lights up, within a recorded, cue using the sub masters (Not Individual Dimmers) subtract lights or dim lights down, from the running cue, and then re-update the cue.
We tend to do allot of that in our, productions, so I am looking for the easiest way to do it to save allot of time.
Any thoughts are greatly apreciated,
Thanks.
soundguy

User avatar
gooze
Posts: 1760
Joined: Tue Dec 18, 2007 12:42 pm
Location: Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contact:

Small Question on programing

Post by gooze » Mon Jun 20, 2011 6:02 pm

Try typing
LOOK 3 @ - 20 ENTER UPDATE ENTER
this way you select the fixtures in look 3 and reduce them by 20% in the current cue and update the cue.

This works also with adding to the levels. You'd have to select look by look. You cannot mix with channel selection. But it leaves no mess of open faders!

Sometimes you are better off with recording groups then looks. Groups are a bit more versatile in grabbing channels.
Both groups and looks can appear on your 5x5 which makes selecting channels a breeze.
Floriaan Ganzevoort - Lighting designer
THEATERMACHINE design. production. operations.

soundguy99
Posts: 51
Joined: Tue Dec 28, 2010 8:09 pm
Primary Venue / Use: Professional Theatre
Where I Am: Manitoba Canada

Re: Small Question on programing

Post by soundguy99 » Mon Jun 20, 2011 9:49 pm

Hey Gooze,
Thanks for that it, I will try it, it should save allot of work,
Without criticizing the console I am still a bit surprised that something that isn`t setup a little more easier or logical.
Your advice will definitely help although having the the ability to edit a cue on the fly using the submasters would still be nice. I don`t know about anyone else but at least from our situation, we have a RGB CYC Fixtures on the back wall, so, for instance after we have recorded the cues with the cyc color, as we go back through the show in rehearsal if the director wanted to tweak the cyc color, instead of trying to setup the entire cue again with the new CYC Color, we could just tweak the color using the 3 SubMasters for the CYC lights, and then update the cue. I am sorry to me it just makes it simple, kind of a subtractive color mixing technique . Make something for the Stand Guys to consider in the future. I love the console but I am still trying to wrap my head around how some of it is setup.
Thanks again for the help,
I will definitely try that,
Soundguy

User avatar
BobbyHarrell
Posts: 2280
Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2007 10:51 am
Location: Livingston, NJ
Contact:

Re: Small Question on programing

Post by BobbyHarrell » Tue Jun 21, 2011 8:22 am

check the release notes for 10.8.3 to learn about setting up the subs as Attribute Control. It may help in your situation with the cyc.
Bobby Harrell - Product Specialist
Philips Entertainment - Strand Lighting

soundguy99
Posts: 51
Joined: Tue Dec 28, 2010 8:09 pm
Primary Venue / Use: Professional Theatre
Where I Am: Manitoba Canada

Re: Small Question on programing

Post by soundguy99 » Thu Jun 23, 2011 12:40 am

Hey thanks guys,
Bobby, that defiantly looks promising, even using some of the sub masters to control some of the shutter controls on our moving lights, outside of the console controls sounds promising.
Also gooze , Thanks for that, that helped,
I played with it and found that if you just type look and then the submaster number and then enter, it selects the fixtures assigned to that submaster, so you can just use the scroll wheel, to readjust the level of that submaster within that running cue, then just hit update. We also tend to use a couple of the submasters, as work lights back stage while the productions are going on, for ropes and set changes, which when making changes on the fly some times they would get programed into the cue, which is not the case now, doing it this other way. It seems that you can use the submaster to program the cues but if you want to make specific changes within the cue, with disturbing the rest of the cue, you have to type it in or use the scroll wheel.
So it works, and it very handy, at least you don`t have to re-record the cue from scratch everytime, a director wants to make a few changes to a scene, that becomes a paint in the neck,
Again thanks for the insight, and I will look more into setting up the attribute control.
Thanks very much,
Soundguy

User avatar
BobbyHarrell
Posts: 2280
Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2007 10:51 am
Location: Livingston, NJ
Contact:

Re: Small Question on programing

Post by BobbyHarrell » Thu Jun 23, 2011 6:59 am

also look at Exclusive subs for your work/running/rope lights.
Bobby Harrell - Product Specialist
Philips Entertainment - Strand Lighting

Post Reply