Page 1 of 1

Recording individual colour att to look?

Posted: Fri Jun 17, 2011 10:02 am
by TerryHynes
Not as easy as it sounds. I want to record the red, green and blue colours of an led fixture to 3 different looks so that the operator can mix on the fly. But simply setting the colours at (for example) Red @ 100, Green and Blue @ zero then recording colour only to a sub doesn't work. The Red records at full, while the other two colours record at zero. So when you run up the handle regardless of what the sub setting is(LTP or HTP) it brings the Red up but takes the other two colours out. What I need to do is Knockout the other two colours in each sub so that bringing up the Red sub just brings up Red, then adding the Green sub adds the Green but leaves the Red and so on. How do we do it?

Re: Recording individual colour att to look?

Posted: Fri Jun 17, 2011 1:38 pm
by golights
Terry,
Have a look at this post viewtopic.php?f=28&t=3189&p=15181&hilit ... rol#p15181 There might be some other posts on this also.
You need to set the look type to attribute control.

Re: Recording individual colour att to look?

Posted: Fri Jun 17, 2011 3:00 pm
by TerryHynes
I don't seem to have that option in Look Types. The only options I have are Additive, Assertive, Inhibitive, Exclusive and Assert Only. What am I missing here?

Re: Recording individual colour att to look?

Posted: Fri Jun 17, 2011 3:42 pm
by golights
I have the latest beta and it shows up on it. Looking at the past release notes it shows up on 10.8.2005 as being added. I would think it would be included in 10.8.3.

Re: Recording individual colour att to look?

Posted: Fri Jun 17, 2011 3:59 pm
by TerryHynes
I'll check on my main console. It has the latest. I was just trying to help out my Studio tech on the Palette VL 16. Thanks.

Re: Recording individual colour att to look?

Posted: Fri Jun 17, 2011 4:08 pm
by TerryHynes
That was it. I just need to upgrade the VL 16. Thanks.

Re: Recording individual colour att to look?

Posted: Mon Jun 20, 2011 8:55 am
by BobbyHarrell
there is another trick that I learned the other day. Assuming you have a sub with intensity and the others with the RGB attributes, you normally would need to always have the RGB sub at a value (minimum of 1%) in order for the Attribute Control type to work. The trick is to take your intensity sub and put RGB at 0% before you record that. Now the intensity sub will take RGB to zero and the attribute subs will work without need for the 1% value on all of them.