Page 1 of 1

10.8.2 effects

Posted: Sun Nov 28, 2010 1:21 pm
by barbarab
I read the release notes for the reworked intensity effects, but I must have missed something. If you want the effect to keep running for several cues, what should you do differently? It used to keep running until you recorded it out. Thank you.

Re: 10.8.2 effects

Posted: Mon Nov 29, 2010 9:14 am
by BrianEvans
Sounds like you have recorded hard values for the channels involved,
instead of just letting them track.

Re: 10.8.2 effects

Posted: Tue Nov 30, 2010 12:18 am
by barbarab
Nope, no levels recorded in the subsequent cues. The effects just fades out. I used to have to record a Block cue to get it to stop, but now it just stops on its own. What's different?

Re: 10.8.2 effects

Posted: Tue Nov 30, 2010 1:25 am
by MickCrozier
Now some intensity effects rely on the underlying value for their levels. So as you've noticed, you need to set a level for the square wave and twinkle effects.
Somewhere in the recording of following cues these levels are being adjusted...

This would happen if you have your cuelist type set as 'preset'
The automagic of the 'preset' type is putting zero's into your next cue - thus the effect channels are being told to do something else, which kills the effect.
Be sure to set the underlying value to the same in following cues when using this cuelist type. Even in tracking mode


The other possibility that comes to mind is using the default tracking cuelist type, and cue only mode.
If you record your new cue from a blank slate, or without the cue you just recorded
The automagic of cue only will put the zeros in. Killing your effect.
In this case you can just go into blind and knockout the zeros so the levels can track from your effect cue.
Or the simplest way is to rec live with effect cue active - adjusted as needed. Provided you don't adjust the levels in the effect, it will continue through.
So now (for square wave and twinkle effects) - this makes stopping the effect better for cue only users. If you record a completely new cue or even a blackout from a blank slate - the effect will stop without the need to block the cue or rec delta - it's much more cue only friendly.
This doesn't apply to tracking users - as the zero's are not automagically entered, so unless you explicitly alter the levels or block a cue, the effect will continue as it always has done.

Re: 10.8.2 effects

Posted: Wed Dec 29, 2010 11:42 am
by barbarab
thanks Mick! that helps.
If you record your new cue from a blank slate, or without the cue you just recorded
The automagic of cue only will put the zeros in. Killing your effect.
in the above case, the zeroes would show on the screen, right? sometimes I don't know or don't remember how the cue was recorded, but I'm supposed to fix it.

Re: 10.8.2 effects

Posted: Wed Dec 29, 2010 9:22 pm
by MickCrozier
Yep, The zero's will show up - whether recorded manually or automatically.