BIOS Passsword

Questions on Palette and Light Palette operation and features
Post Reply
tferr
Posts: 21
Joined: Mon Apr 05, 2010 4:46 pm
Primary Venue / Use: University
Where I Am: Student at Kutztown University
Location: Kutztown, PA

BIOS Passsword

Post by tferr » Tue Nov 09, 2010 2:06 pm

There is now a need to password protect the console where I work to prevent unauthorized access. Since our console (classic palette II silver) has XPE, I don't think you can add a user password in windows. Is the bios capable of having a password to prevent booting into the OS? I can do this with desktop computers, but I'm not to sure about the desk without going into the bios setup.
Tyler Ferrero- Lighting Assistant at Kutztown University
Classic Palette (Silver)
10.8.4

cpf
Posts: 12
Joined: Thu Aug 20, 2009 10:55 pm
Primary Venue / Use: Local Theatre
Where I Am: Alberta Canada

BIOS Passsword

Post by cpf » Thu Nov 11, 2010 2:18 am

I have a similar console but have never tried this. Try booting up the console while holding down F2/F8/Delete while it's booting to get the BIOS screen up, I'll check tomorrow and see.
As for passwording the windows account, I wouldn't try it for fear of breaking Horizon's maybe-not-the-greatest software setup. If the BIOS route doesn't work I'd try fixing the problem at the source: why are untrusted people even within unsupervised touching distance of the console?

tferr
Posts: 21
Joined: Mon Apr 05, 2010 4:46 pm
Primary Venue / Use: University
Where I Am: Student at Kutztown University
Location: Kutztown, PA

Re: BIOS Passsword

Post by tferr » Fri Nov 12, 2010 3:35 pm

Yeah I wasn't going to try putting a password on windows, I don't want to screw up the software. I'll try the bios thing on Monday.
Tyler Ferrero- Lighting Assistant at Kutztown University
Classic Palette (Silver)
10.8.4

Post Reply