Automod / 1 dimmer - 2 dmx channels

Questions on Palette and Light Palette operation and features
Post Reply
User avatar
MickCrozier
Posts: 288
Joined: Tue Mar 31, 2009 3:10 am
Primary Venue / Use: Professional Theatre
Where I Am: Melbourne, Australia
Location: Melbourne, Australia

Automod / 1 dimmer - 2 dmx channels

Post by MickCrozier » Sun Nov 07, 2010 3:17 am

is there any plans for an Automod replacement?

Yesterday i had blinder DSC along with some par16's
The Blinder blew in the first song - leaving us without a show critical light for the entire first act.
This would have been an easy fix with Automod - just patch the Par16's to come up when the blinder should have.

As the console is now - this was complicated using eith the submaster - and having to reember to take it out for the blackout, or capture the par16's, but have to remember to release them.
Needless to say there was bit of "I SAID BLACKOUT!!""
Formerly Durisian (who died peacefully of digital old age)

User avatar
gooze
Posts: 1760
Joined: Tue Dec 18, 2007 12:42 pm
Location: Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contact:

Automod / 1 dimmer - 2 dmx channels

Post by gooze » Sun Nov 07, 2010 6:12 am

You could have done that. There is a rather unknown function in patch. Modify data if I'm correct. Here you can move or copy data to another fixture while keeping it's own. I think this feature shouldn't be in patch and should be advertised a bit more!
Floriaan Ganzevoort - Lighting designer
THEATERMACHINE design. production. operations.

User avatar
MickCrozier
Posts: 288
Joined: Tue Mar 31, 2009 3:10 am
Primary Venue / Use: Professional Theatre
Where I Am: Melbourne, Australia
Location: Melbourne, Australia

Re: Automod / 1 dimmer - 2 dmx channels

Post by MickCrozier » Sun Nov 07, 2010 9:27 am

Thanks Gooze... will check it out
Formerly Durisian (who died peacefully of digital old age)

User avatar
MickCrozier
Posts: 288
Joined: Tue Mar 31, 2009 3:10 am
Primary Venue / Use: Professional Theatre
Where I Am: Melbourne, Australia
Location: Melbourne, Australia

Re: Automod / 1 dimmer - 2 dmx channels

Post by MickCrozier » Sun Nov 07, 2010 9:19 pm

Move and Copy data will come in very handy!
However 2 problems prevent it being useful in this case

1. I still want the par16's to come on as programmed. if I copy the blinder data to the par16's - I lose their original data, to be effective there needs to be a 'merge' option.

2. The copy needs to be temporary. Fixing the blinder is no problem (did it at interval), and still had 2 more full performances to go.
So there needs to be an east way to revert back to original.
Could be done by doing a simple save as. But then any changes made during that time would be lost when going back to the original file - not really ideal.


IMO The simplest soloution would be for a fixture to temporarily reference another.
Example command: Fixture 48 [S7 - Modify Data] [M4 - Ref. From] 50 (M3 could be 'Merge To' :D )
Then to undo the referencer: Fixture 48 Ref. From 48

Although that still leaves my par16's without their original data.... This might be a bit hardcore, but maybe multiple references could be used.
Fixture 48 [S7 - Modify Data] [M4 - Ref. From] 48+50
Formerly Durisian (who died peacefully of digital old age)

Post Reply