Colour FX

Questions on Palette and Light Palette operation and features
Post Reply
Straker
Posts: 24
Joined: Wed Sep 02, 2009 8:27 am
Primary Venue / Use: Touring
Where I Am: A UK Northern Opera Company

Colour FX

Post by Straker » Thu Nov 04, 2010 12:14 pm

When programming a show a designer requested a venetian blind type colour effect on 8 units LED colour changers built into a flown bit of the set. Normally this wouldn't be a problem, select a base colour add an automatic venetian blind chase to Colour A, B or C record delta and job done.

He then requested a chase between two specific mixed colours (i.e. two colours he mixed manually and I recorded as colour looks). I accomplished this through a cue list chase fired from a macro however having to programme the 17 cues necessary was time consuming.

Is there a way of forcing an automatic colour effect between two fixed colours and then just selecting type of effect, rate, dwell and intensity etc. as normal?

User avatar
BrianEvans
Posts: 700
Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2007 1:11 pm
Location: Orlando, Florida

Re: Colour FX

Post by BrianEvans » Thu Nov 04, 2010 3:12 pm

Unfortunately no, and it is something that I requested for the list a long time ago.

But what your doing sounds to me like nothing other than 2 cues with fanned independednt wait and fade times between all the fixtures.
1 cue opens the "blind", one cue closes it.
Brian Evans - System Specialist - Horizon Control Inc.

User avatar
TaineGilliam
Posts: 1183
Joined: Tue Oct 23, 2007 5:15 pm
Location: Cleveland, OH
Contact:

Re: Colour FX

Post by TaineGilliam » Thu Nov 04, 2010 5:43 pm

You might want to try a Look Page Chase effect. Record the the desired colors into looks and set the Look Page for the Look Page Chase. You will want to play with the various offset and span options. You may find yourself wanting to create more than one Look for each color and remember the order ofthe Looks in the Look Page will matter.

Straker
Posts: 24
Joined: Wed Sep 02, 2009 8:27 am
Primary Venue / Use: Touring
Where I Am: A UK Northern Opera Company

Re: Colour FX

Post by Straker » Fri Nov 05, 2010 12:51 pm

Having played around with this a bit more a cue list chase with changing rate and xfade rate times still seems to be the fastest way of programming this.

The problem with using two cues and independent timing is that it makes changing the times much more cumbersome. You have to first work out the different rates and then enter them individually. Although this is what I did for non repeating blind opening cues, using cue parts (B to I).

User avatar
gooze
Posts: 1760
Joined: Tue Dec 18, 2007 12:42 pm
Location: Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contact:

Colour FX

Post by gooze » Fri Nov 05, 2010 2:23 pm

I suppose you know about the following syntax:
1/10@100@0-5/1
to let the console calculate wait times for your selection between 0 and 5 seconds.
Floriaan Ganzevoort - Lighting designer
THEATERMACHINE design. production. operations.

Straker
Posts: 24
Joined: Wed Sep 02, 2009 8:27 am
Primary Venue / Use: Touring
Where I Am: A UK Northern Opera Company

Re: Colour FX

Post by Straker » Tue Nov 09, 2010 12:58 pm

Arrgghh, no I didn't know about that. Makes life much simpler.

Cheers

User avatar
RobertBell
Posts: 2421
Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2007 1:11 pm
Primary Venue / Use: Other
Where I Am: Horizon Control Inc
Location: On the dark side just north of Toronto
Contact:

Re: Colour FX

Post by RobertBell » Tue Nov 16, 2010 11:53 am

Also handy (from here)
Relatively Shifting Times from their Current Values

Often, when teching a show, you may have just run a cue and want to add a second or two to a fade. If you have a large number of fixtures already using staggered independent times, such as in the image of the fixture grid above, adding one second to each fixture's fade would be a monumental task. The command line syntax to add a second to a range of fixtures, using their current values as the starting place is [1] [THRU] [20] [@] [+] [1] [ENTER]
Robert Bell - Product Manager - Horizon Control Inc.

Post Reply