Importing Cue Lists/ Missing Effects

Questions on Palette and Light Palette operation and features
Post Reply
User avatar
alexfabozzi
Posts: 19
Joined: Thu Oct 30, 2008 6:56 pm
Location: New York, New York

Importing Cue Lists/ Missing Effects

Post by alexfabozzi » Thu Mar 25, 2010 12:00 pm

I was recently on a job where we had to copy a cue list with 14 cues several times over to work through a vision net setup. We would change the color for every q-list and tracking would take care of the rest. This way when a button was hit on vision net the appropriate "color" cue list would be triggered.

When we dropped the show onto a rack palette backstage we found that the variables needed to run the vision net disappeared... this was due to error previously by starting a show file without them.

I figured that this was no real problem because while I can't import variables for a show I can import Cue Lists.
We started an old show with the variables still intact and imported a cue list to test. The cue timing and intensity was all there but the effects were missing.

We ended up having to rebuild those effects on a show file that already contained the variable for vision net.

Working on 10.6.4 by the way.

Did I do something wrong or are effects not imported when importing a cue list from another show file??

Thanks,
Alex

User avatar
RobertBell
Posts: 2421
Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2007 1:11 pm
Primary Venue / Use: Other
Where I Am: Horizon Control Inc
Location: On the dark side just north of Toronto
Contact:

Re: Importing Cue Lists/ Missing Effects

Post by RobertBell » Thu Mar 25, 2010 12:44 pm

Known bug. Sorry for the pain.
Robert Bell - Product Manager - Horizon Control Inc.

User avatar
bnortin
Posts: 249
Joined: Wed Sep 10, 2008 4:03 pm
Primary Venue / Use: Professional Theatre
Where I Am: Houston, TX
Location: Houston, TX
Contact:

Re: Importing Cue Lists/ Missing Effects

Post by bnortin » Mon May 17, 2010 12:52 pm

I haven't run into the cue list issue, but I have had problems with importing look pages with effects on them. I've also had some problems with copying and moving looks with effects. Does this particular "known bug" include all of these issues or should I make a new post?
Bryan Nortin
Electrician - Miller Outdoor Theatre - Houston, TX
ETCP Certified Entertainment Electrician #1619
Light Palette VL 10.8.8
Light Palette Live 10.8.8

User avatar
RobertBell
Posts: 2421
Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2007 1:11 pm
Primary Venue / Use: Other
Where I Am: Horizon Control Inc
Location: On the dark side just north of Toronto
Contact:

Re: Importing Cue Lists/ Missing Effects

Post by RobertBell » Mon May 17, 2010 3:00 pm

All related. Sorry again.
Robert Bell - Product Manager - Horizon Control Inc.

Lizzz
Posts: 11
Joined: Thu Aug 28, 2008 2:45 pm

Re: Importing Cue Lists/ Missing Effects

Post by Lizzz » Sat Jun 12, 2010 10:02 am

Is it also a known bug for Independent timing on attributes? in my case on the colors.

User avatar
alexfabozzi
Posts: 19
Joined: Thu Oct 30, 2008 6:56 pm
Location: New York, New York

Re: Importing Cue Lists/ Missing Effects

Post by alexfabozzi » Fri Jun 18, 2010 9:39 pm

I just did a little test and it seems to keep independent timings.

-Alex

User avatar
bnortin
Posts: 249
Joined: Wed Sep 10, 2008 4:03 pm
Primary Venue / Use: Professional Theatre
Where I Am: Houston, TX
Location: Houston, TX
Contact:

Re: Importing Cue Lists/ Missing Effects

Post by bnortin » Wed Apr 27, 2011 12:33 am

Still happening in 10.8.3...any news?
Bryan Nortin
Electrician - Miller Outdoor Theatre - Houston, TX
ETCP Certified Entertainment Electrician #1619
Light Palette VL 10.8.8
Light Palette Live 10.8.8

User avatar
BobbyHarrell
Posts: 2278
Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2007 10:51 am
Location: Livingston, NJ
Contact:

Re: Importing Cue Lists/ Missing Effects

Post by BobbyHarrell » Wed Apr 27, 2011 8:23 am

I had forgotten about it. Placed on the list.
Bobby Harrell - Product Specialist
Philips Entertainment - Strand Lighting

User avatar
bnortin
Posts: 249
Joined: Wed Sep 10, 2008 4:03 pm
Primary Venue / Use: Professional Theatre
Where I Am: Houston, TX
Location: Houston, TX
Contact:

Re: Importing Cue Lists/ Missing Effects

Post by bnortin » Wed Apr 27, 2011 1:51 pm

Thanks Bobby. I saw the release note in the Beta about the issue with copying effects being fixed, any word on moving cues/looks or importing from a different show file?
Bryan Nortin
Electrician - Miller Outdoor Theatre - Houston, TX
ETCP Certified Entertainment Electrician #1619
Light Palette VL 10.8.8
Light Palette Live 10.8.8

User avatar
BobbyHarrell
Posts: 2278
Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2007 10:51 am
Location: Livingston, NJ
Contact:

Re: Importing Cue Lists/ Missing Effects

Post by BobbyHarrell » Thu Apr 28, 2011 11:43 am

at this point, I can only report that it is on the list. No further update at this time.
Bobby Harrell - Product Specialist
Philips Entertainment - Strand Lighting

Post Reply