Is this a mistake??

Questions on Palette and Light Palette operation and features
Post Reply
hollipe
Posts: 27
Joined: Tue Aug 19, 2008 10:45 am
Location: Linz, Austria
Contact:

Is this a mistake??

Post by hollipe » Tue Jan 19, 2010 8:49 am

Hello everyone,

I maybe found a mistake, which is maybe the reason that makes our LP-VL very unstable.

I was playing around and found out, that in the patch routine we have two times the same route.

Does anyone know about this??

Route Source Start End Protokoll Net slot Notes

1 Live Data 1.1( 1 ) 4.512 ( 2048 ) DMX 1.1 ( 1 ) Converted from old show

2 Live Data 1.1( 1 ) 4.512 ( 2048 ) DMX 1.1 ( 1 ) Converted from old show

Do I need both routes???

Thanks for helping,

Peter

GaryDouglas
Posts: 689
Joined: Thu Oct 11, 2007 9:33 pm
Location: Calgary, Canada

Re: Is this a mistake??

Post by GaryDouglas » Tue Jan 19, 2010 1:26 pm

You only need one of the routes. You can delete or disable one.

Can you give me details on how the second route came to be? Did you import from an SSF file or load the patch from an old show?

Thanks.
Gary Douglas - Lead Software Developer - Pathway Connectivity - A Division of Acuity Brands Lighting Canada.

pierlavoie
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Oct 29, 2008 9:17 am

Re: Is this a mistake??

Post by pierlavoie » Tue Jan 19, 2010 5:17 pm

Hi Gary,
the same thing happened to me last week. It seems that it does this when I import a show file with the patch.

Pierre.

hollipe
Posts: 27
Joined: Tue Aug 19, 2008 10:45 am
Location: Linz, Austria
Contact:

Re: Is this a mistake??

Post by hollipe » Thu Jan 21, 2010 9:14 am

Hi Gary,

our dealer did the software updates. Maybe it happens there.

I have an own show and I have 4 routes for each DMX port one. But I only have switched live data at the first port and disabled the others.

So this is ok.



Thanks,

Peter
Last edited by hollipe on Thu Jan 21, 2010 9:17 am, edited 1 time in total.

hollipe
Posts: 27
Joined: Tue Aug 19, 2008 10:45 am
Location: Linz, Austria
Contact:

Re: Is this a mistake??

Post by hollipe » Thu Jan 21, 2010 9:16 am

Ok deleted one...didnt reed your post carefully, sorry!

hollipe
Posts: 27
Joined: Tue Aug 19, 2008 10:45 am
Location: Linz, Austria
Contact:

Re: Is this a mistake??

Post by hollipe » Thu Jan 21, 2010 9:17 am

I think we imported from old shows, because this is written in the notes.

SimonWatson
Posts: 53
Joined: Wed Aug 13, 2008 5:03 am

Re: Is this a mistake??

Post by SimonWatson » Wed Feb 03, 2010 11:38 am

It happens when you import a patch from one show file to another. All the patch routes get duplicated. We go to 4 venues and by the time I had imported my last FOH patch I had about 30 patch routes

User avatar
gooze
Posts: 1760
Joined: Tue Dec 18, 2007 12:42 pm
Location: Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Is this a mistake??

Post by gooze » Wed Feb 03, 2010 12:55 pm

So why not just make a copy of your show, using save as... and do the patch directly on the showfile. I think that is quicker, cleaner and more safe then importing the patch separately.
Floriaan Ganzevoort - Lighting designer
THEATERMACHINE design. production. operations.

SimonWatson
Posts: 53
Joined: Wed Aug 13, 2008 5:03 am

Re: Is this a mistake??

Post by SimonWatson » Thu Feb 04, 2010 10:46 am

No, the quick way and easy way is to have a show file for each of the venues you tour to regularly and just import the bits of the patch that are different to your home base show file into your final show, for the tour. We tour 3 shows in rep, and having to manually repatch every front of house for every show is a lot of work. The old 520 would allow you to select part of a patch and overwrite to form a new show file, but this desk won't. You have to import the whole patch which means you lose any show specific channels and attributes, its all very clumsy and a large step backwards. Thinking about it now, it also has nothing to do with this thread.

User avatar
gooze
Posts: 1760
Joined: Tue Dec 18, 2007 12:42 pm
Location: Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Is this a mistake??

Post by gooze » Thu Feb 04, 2010 11:11 am

Big on my list too. Partial patch import. And: undo in patch.

I can see the reason why you work the way you do. I haven't thought of rep, because it hardly exists anymore in the Netherlands...

And yes, also my post is very off-topic.
Floriaan Ganzevoort - Lighting designer
THEATERMACHINE design. production. operations.

Post Reply