Sync Audio and Lighting Cues

Questions on Palette and Light Palette operation and features
Post Reply
User avatar
JohnGrimshaw
Posts: 1233
Joined: Tue Oct 16, 2007 12:51 pm
Primary Venue / Use: Other
Where I Am: International Man of Mystery
Location: Sydney, Australia
Contact:

Sync Audio and Lighting Cues

Post by JohnGrimshaw » Sun Jan 17, 2010 4:08 pm

This was posted on my videos on You Tube...
joker8588 wrote:How would you sync music to go with a light cue? I have a Palette Preset II and we would like to have our board run for example a thunder sound effect then have a light cue go .
There are a couple of ways to answer this, depending on your console capabilities and support:
1) (Triggered via the console) play the audio from media player on the console - you need audio outputs for this to work. On Palette consoles WITHOUT these on the back, you can add them with a generic USB sound card, but TEST it before you buy it. You cannot install drivers on the console! The "local" media player can be triggered by macros.
2) (Triggered via the console) play the audio from another computer - via powerpoint. Follow the tutorials for running external powerpoint cues.
3) (Triggered via the console) play the audio from another computer - via synced playlist. I have not tested this, but there is no reason why this should not work... The Palette has a function where OTHER sessions of Palette can track a main one. The settings are in the CUELIST properties. Use the Offline editor as the 2nd computer, complete with audio capabilities.
4) (External Trigger) Use an external device to trigger the go, and have that same trigger launch the audio. This can be done Via RS232 and Vision.Net calls, and via HTML triggers you can write and have the console activate its webserver.

...and of course...
5) employ a lighting operator, a sound operator, and a stage manager, and get them to rehearse the sequence ;)

The "easiest" is probably 1 or 2.
...and for more entertainment industry trivia and useless facts, just ask:
John Grimshaw
Managing Director
Stage Fast Pty Ltd

kluc
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Mar 02, 2010 3:25 pm
Primary Venue / Use: Other School
Where I Am: Western PA USA / Pittsburgh Area

Re: Sync Audio and Lighting Cues

Post by kluc » Wed Mar 03, 2010 12:18 am

has any one try generic USB sound card

if so did it work and what kind

User avatar
JohnGrimshaw
Posts: 1233
Joined: Tue Oct 16, 2007 12:51 pm
Primary Venue / Use: Other
Where I Am: International Man of Mystery
Location: Sydney, Australia
Contact:

Re: Sync Audio and Lighting Cues

Post by JohnGrimshaw » Wed Mar 03, 2010 4:43 pm

Sorry - this will be forever a trial and error thing, because the sound card manufacturers insist on changing models so regularly! At least they are cheap.
...and for more entertainment industry trivia and useless facts, just ask:
John Grimshaw
Managing Director
Stage Fast Pty Ltd

User avatar
willarki
Posts: 19
Joined: Tue Feb 12, 2008 3:34 am
Location: Canberra, Australia

Re: Sync Audio and Lighting Cues

Post by willarki » Wed Mar 03, 2010 9:10 pm

Be even better to be able to use a USB to MIDI converter like this:
Image

Would be an easy and cheap means of getting MIDI into or out of a Palette
What I need are programmable, limited distance photons. That'll show the set designer that illuminators are superior!

Classic Palette 1
cheers, Mike

User avatar
MickCrozier
Posts: 288
Joined: Tue Mar 31, 2009 3:10 am
Primary Venue / Use: Professional Theatre
Where I Am: Melbourne, Australia
Location: Melbourne, Australia

Re: Sync Audio and Lighting Cues

Post by MickCrozier » Thu Mar 04, 2010 1:56 am

That's something I've been wondering

Can a generic USB MIDI interface be used provided it uses the standard windows usb midi driver?
Formerly Durisian (who died peacefully of digital old age)

User avatar
willarki
Posts: 19
Joined: Tue Feb 12, 2008 3:34 am
Location: Canberra, Australia

Re: Sync Audio and Lighting Cues

Post by willarki » Thu Mar 04, 2010 4:22 am

Didn't work when I plugged it into my Classis Palette. However, I did try it on some highly managed PC's at the office and it worked without the installaion of any drivers.
What I need are programmable, limited distance photons. That'll show the set designer that illuminators are superior!

Classic Palette 1
cheers, Mike

User avatar
Buffy
Posts: 62
Joined: Fri Mar 07, 2008 7:02 am
Primary Venue / Use: Regional Theatre
Where I Am: Midlands Ireland
Location: Dunamaise Theatre Portlaoise
Contact:

Re: Sync Audio and Lighting Cues

Post by Buffy » Thu Mar 04, 2010 10:00 am

the griffin tech iMic works very well with the palette.
Let's just use the 23

Post Reply