Console Lockup

Questions on Palette and Light Palette operation and features
martinty
Posts: 13
Joined: Sun Jul 12, 2009 2:25 am
Primary Venue / Use: Local Theatre
Where I Am: Vancouver, Canada

Console Lockup

Post by martinty » Fri Oct 30, 2009 12:28 pm

I have a Basic Palette 2, with OS 10.6.1. Occasionally during ANY operation, The encoder wheel will stop responding, then about 10 minutes later, there are DMX issues, where it starts outputting the wrong channels to the wrong devices. In hardware test, all of the keys respond, but the encoder does not. It usually takes 2-3 reboots to correct all the issues and get response back from the encoder, and response from DMX. I can't seem to recreate the issue, it just happens randomly on different show files. This doesnt seem to be a software issue, because It did this on 10.6.0 as well.

Should I be worried about hardware failure? I have a show opening on Nov 12th, and I don't have a backup console. What should I do?
Console: Basic Palette v2
OS: 10.6.1

martinty
Posts: 13
Joined: Sun Jul 12, 2009 2:25 am
Primary Venue / Use: Local Theatre
Where I Am: Vancouver, Canada

Re: Console Lockup

Post by martinty » Fri Oct 30, 2009 12:41 pm

Sorry, to add to my post. When we lose connection to the encoder wheel, we lose connection to the whole control surface. This is completly random. It has happened during programming, show runs, and on the fly operation.
Console: Basic Palette v2
OS: 10.6.1

User avatar
mat
Posts: 451
Joined: Thu Nov 15, 2007 12:05 pm
Primary Venue / Use: Professional Theatre
Where I Am: An opera in France
Location: Dijon;France
Contact:

Re: Console Lockup

Post by mat » Fri Oct 30, 2009 12:43 pm

are you using walkie talkie?
Mat-Opera de Dijon
France
lightpalette VL
palette VL 16
10.8.8

martinty
Posts: 13
Joined: Sun Jul 12, 2009 2:25 am
Primary Venue / Use: Local Theatre
Where I Am: Vancouver, Canada

Re: Console Lockup

Post by martinty » Fri Oct 30, 2009 12:49 pm

Walkie-Talkie? Not even sure what that is.... but no im not using it i dont think.
Console: Basic Palette v2
OS: 10.6.1

User avatar
mat
Posts: 451
Joined: Thu Nov 15, 2007 12:05 pm
Primary Venue / Use: Professional Theatre
Where I Am: An opera in France
Location: Dijon;France
Contact:

Re: Console Lockup

Post by mat » Fri Oct 30, 2009 12:52 pm

I mean radio coms,
A known issue shows that the use of radios near some desks can freeze it.
I had this experience
Mat-Opera de Dijon
France
lightpalette VL
palette VL 16
10.8.8

martinty
Posts: 13
Joined: Sun Jul 12, 2009 2:25 am
Primary Venue / Use: Local Theatre
Where I Am: Vancouver, Canada

Re: Console Lockup

Post by martinty » Fri Oct 30, 2009 12:54 pm

There is no Wireless in the building whatsoever. No Wifi, and no Radio Signals sourced in the building
Console: Basic Palette v2
OS: 10.6.1

User avatar
JohnnyBITE
Posts: 12
Joined: Wed Jun 10, 2009 11:34 am
Primary Venue / Use: Professional Theatre
Where I Am: Barbican Theatre, London
Location: Barbican Theatre, London, United Kingdom
Contact:

Re: Console Lockup

Post by JohnnyBITE » Fri Oct 30, 2009 1:05 pm

It doesn't sound like it, but make sure the USB a>b cable is nice and secure.
Without this, the faceplate won't respond, and anything that is plugged into it (Trackpad...) wont work either.
Johnny Wilson
----
Programming Fairy
----
Barbican Theatre, London

martinty
Posts: 13
Joined: Sun Jul 12, 2009 2:25 am
Primary Venue / Use: Local Theatre
Where I Am: Vancouver, Canada

Re: Console Lockup

Post by martinty » Fri Oct 30, 2009 1:14 pm

The USB cable is zap strapped to the console frame, it is in there pretty tight. The strange thing is the keyboard and mouse both stay responsive during the lockups.
Console: Basic Palette v2
OS: 10.6.1

RobHillig
Posts: 71
Joined: Tue Oct 13, 2009 11:49 am
Primary Venue / Use: University
Where I Am: Punch Drunk

Re: Console Lockup

Post by RobHillig » Fri Oct 30, 2009 1:56 pm

Does the encoder lock up 'during' operation or between operations when the console isn't touched for a little bit?

There had been an issue with the USB 'going to sleep'. There is a fix for this.

If, however, it is locking up in the middle of operation I would still suspect a USB problem, but I would not care to speculate as to the cause.

R

martinty
Posts: 13
Joined: Sun Jul 12, 2009 2:25 am
Primary Venue / Use: Local Theatre
Where I Am: Vancouver, Canada

Re: Console Lockup

Post by martinty » Fri Oct 30, 2009 2:05 pm

no, it is a completely random lock up. It has happened while i was typing in commands, and while I have left the console sitting there.
Console: Basic Palette v2
OS: 10.6.1

Post Reply