Fixture Profile

Questions on Palette and Light Palette operation and features
Straker
Posts: 24
Joined: Wed Sep 02, 2009 8:27 am
Primary Venue / Use: Touring
Where I Am: A UK Northern Opera Company

Re: Fixture Profile

Post by Straker » Tue Feb 02, 2010 4:52 pm

Not directly Strand related again I'm afraid :)

@AmP

Apologies if I'm stating the obvious.

You can find all the latest colour effect and visual FX labelling on the onboard web server on Catalyst (look for help on the menu). If you have a chance to print them to PDF and send them to Horizon I would be greatful. I can't get to our server at the moment.

AmP
Posts: 23
Joined: Fri Oct 02, 2009 10:20 am
Primary Venue / Use: University
Where I Am: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

Re: Fixture Profile

Post by AmP » Tue Feb 02, 2010 5:55 pm

I didn't even think of that.

By the time I'd gotten to the Catalyst and back to my desk, I'd already received a reply from Horizon. Seems as though the fixture library can't handle the large amounts of data that this kind of labeling would need.

I'll have to think of another way to do it.

User avatar
golights
Posts: 159
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2008 2:58 pm
Location: South Of Atlanta

Re: Fixture Profile

Post by golights » Tue Feb 02, 2010 7:40 pm

One way to label some attritabutes would be to record them in the [Other] palette and label them there. Then when you wanted to set that attribute you could do [tool ][other] and select the attribute by its label. That way in the ML attribute box you would see the label and know the setting. Kind of a long way to get there but can be done.

AmP
Posts: 23
Joined: Fri Oct 02, 2009 10:20 am
Primary Venue / Use: University
Where I Am: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

Re: Fixture Profile

Post by AmP » Tue Feb 02, 2010 9:57 pm

Well, it's not precisely what I wanted, but it might be enough. I'll have to record all the palettes and run it in a show to be sure.

GeoffGooch
Posts: 25
Joined: Thu Dec 13, 2007 1:51 pm

Re: Fixture Profile

Post by GeoffGooch » Thu Feb 04, 2010 12:12 pm

Can someone from Strand confirm that there are limits to labeling parameters on individual channels? I have several media servers and would be very disappointed if this is the case.

Thanks,
Geoff Gooch

User avatar
BrianEvans
Posts: 700
Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2007 1:11 pm
Location: Orlando, Florida

Re: Fixture Profile

Post by BrianEvans » Thu Feb 04, 2010 12:17 pm

That is correct.
The current library structure is not set for labeling "things" on channels that aren't gobos our colors.

Your best bet is to create a simple application, somewhat like Robs Stage Manager application,
to show you text of atributes.
Brian Evans - System Specialist - Horizon Control Inc.

Straker
Posts: 24
Joined: Wed Sep 02, 2009 8:27 am
Primary Venue / Use: Touring
Where I Am: A UK Northern Opera Company

Re: Fixture Profile

Post by Straker » Thu Feb 04, 2010 12:24 pm

To be honest why would you want to try running a media server (Catalyst, Hippotizer etc.) on a Palette.

Wouldn't a desk with media server integration ie thumbnail folder and mix layer output views built in make much more sense? Like a Vector or GrandMa, sorry couldn't resist

Not to mention the afor mentioned extra fixtures that are needed at present.


Off topic:
Can we have hidden BBcode tag allowed please ;) .

User avatar
BrianEvans
Posts: 700
Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2007 1:11 pm
Location: Orlando, Florida

Re: Fixture Profile

Post by BrianEvans » Thu Feb 04, 2010 12:28 pm

Sorry Straker.
Running Media servers on ANY console sucks.
I am a GrandMA user, And a Hog 3 User, and an ETC user,..............
At mouse world, we use a wide variety of desks.

Media servers suck on ANY lighting desk.
Thumbnails are pointless decorations,
and don't solve any problems.
Leave the video programming to the videoits on a switcher that is designed to handle media,
and just send the server cues.
Brian Evans - System Specialist - Horizon Control Inc.

Straker
Posts: 24
Joined: Wed Sep 02, 2009 8:27 am
Primary Venue / Use: Touring
Where I Am: A UK Northern Opera Company

Re: Fixture Profile

Post by Straker » Thu Feb 04, 2010 12:35 pm

BrianEvans wrote: Thumbnails are pointless decorations,
and don't solve any problems.
I think from my point of view having used most of the above mentioned it is all about degrees of difficulty.

Thumnails are nice but not totally vital they do make the necessity of continously updating paperwork for new content less of a problem. Seeing the inframe of the image rather than a number is easier. However, being able to see exactly what the projector is outputting on the screen of the console as you are using it (without setting up extra output splitters that add delay 2 or 3 frames delay especialy on a live feed) is very nice.

From my point of view if you are getting a desk for media work you might be better served elsewhere. Having said that some of the good media desks are rubbish for theatre work. Its all about what application you are going to be using a particuar tool for.

User avatar
BrianEvans
Posts: 700
Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2007 1:11 pm
Location: Orlando, Florida

Re: Fixture Profile

Post by BrianEvans » Thu Feb 04, 2010 12:58 pm

I think you see my point.
What media is being played is
0.0001% of the crap that is actually important in the display.

I have been asking for a dual library system.
Believe it or not, Horizon was actually better suited to run media servers,
because it had a lot of drop down list boxes you could populate with the 11 million selection for an attribute.
Brian Evans - System Specialist - Horizon Control Inc.

Post Reply