macro question

Questions on Palette and Light Palette operation and features
User avatar
mat
Posts: 451
Joined: Thu Nov 15, 2007 12:05 pm
Primary Venue / Use: Professional Theatre
Where I Am: An opera in France
Location: Dijon;France
Contact:

macro question

Post by mat » Fri Mar 06, 2009 5:12 am

Could someone tell me how to trigger macros from M keys?
I 'm on lightpalette vl.


thanks
Mat-Opera de Dijon
France
lightpalette VL
palette VL 16
10.8.8

User avatar
golights
Posts: 160
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2008 2:58 pm
Location: South Of Atlanta

Re: macro question

Post by golights » Fri Mar 06, 2009 9:39 am

You could look at John's video on the subject of macros. The whole series is well put together. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=G-VCWqDI ... annel_page

User avatar
mat
Posts: 451
Joined: Thu Nov 15, 2007 12:05 pm
Primary Venue / Use: Professional Theatre
Where I Am: An opera in France
Location: Dijon;France
Contact:

Re: macro question

Post by mat » Fri Mar 06, 2009 11:45 am

I have already watched it but it doesn't work for me.
when i press my m keys nothing happen.
Mat-Opera de Dijon
France
lightpalette VL
palette VL 16
10.8.8

GaryDouglas
Posts: 689
Joined: Thu Oct 11, 2007 9:33 pm
Location: Calgary, Canada

Re: macro question

Post by GaryDouglas » Fri Mar 06, 2009 12:21 pm

For the moment, only the Mkeys on Palette 2 consoles (Small Black desks) have Macro functionality. This is because there is no ALT key on the Lightpalette / Palette 1.

We're working on a number of solutions in this area. Watch this space.
Gary Douglas - Lead Software Developer - Pathway Connectivity - A Division of Acuity Brands Lighting Canada.

User avatar
BrianEvans
Posts: 700
Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2007 1:11 pm
Location: Orlando, Florida

Re: macro question

Post by BrianEvans » Fri Mar 06, 2009 12:28 pm

Century Array V2.0 will be available soon as well.
It has a 100 macros per page, in one display mode.
Brian Evans - System Specialist - Horizon Control Inc.

GaryDouglas
Posts: 689
Joined: Thu Oct 11, 2007 9:33 pm
Location: Calgary, Canada

Re: macro question

Post by GaryDouglas » Fri Mar 06, 2009 12:48 pm

For reference (I was just reminded) , you can fire up to 10 macros on the LightPalette by hitting

[SHIFT] [0]
to
[SHIFT] [9]

These will fire the first 10 Macros.
Gary Douglas - Lead Software Developer - Pathway Connectivity - A Division of Acuity Brands Lighting Canada.

User avatar
mat
Posts: 451
Joined: Thu Nov 15, 2007 12:05 pm
Primary Venue / Use: Professional Theatre
Where I Am: An opera in France
Location: Dijon;France
Contact:

Re: macro question

Post by mat » Fri Mar 06, 2009 12:55 pm

thank you for your anwsers,
by the way i didn't succeed to fire it with shift + 0/9
Have to patch my variable page?
Mat-Opera de Dijon
France
lightpalette VL
palette VL 16
10.8.8

User avatar
JohnGrimshaw
Posts: 1233
Joined: Tue Oct 16, 2007 12:51 pm
Primary Venue / Use: Other
Where I Am: International Man of Mystery
Location: Sydney, Australia
Contact:

Re: macro question

Post by JohnGrimshaw » Sat Mar 07, 2009 6:51 pm

The macros "should" fire with the default variables page and no patching. The numbering of the macros is important. Attached is a 10.4.12 showfile with 12 macros on the default page.

On the Palette I, (I think) you can trigger these by hitting Shift+Number - but as some of hte numbers have arrow keys, you will not get all of the macros (0,1,3,5,7&9)
On the Palette II, the M keys work as designed
On the Light Palette, hitting Shift+Number gets you macros 1 to 10.

You can also use "patching to the Submasters" as a way to trigger macros. In the attached, I have put TWO macros under Look Fader 1. One triggers when the fader is at 100%, the other when it leaves 100%.

** In the soon to be released software, you will be able to put macros DIRCTLY onto the bump button of a look. You can separate the actions of the button from the fader. That will give you as many macro triggers as you need! There is a lot more function in this new setup and it is a GREAT tool that has wide implications.

*** That said, what I would LOVE to see is a method that uses TOOLS to trigger any macro. Imagine go you to the Tools menu, select "MacroTrigger", and the M Keys populate with all the Variables pages, select one and then you see all of the macros on that page (exactly like how you patch a moving light using command line syntax). That not only RUNS the marco, but puts it directly under the Tools button if you want to run it repeatedly for some reason.
Attachments
VariablesTest.spf
(34.58 KiB) Downloaded 113 times
Last edited by JohnGrimshaw on Mon Mar 09, 2009 5:01 pm, edited 1 time in total.
...and for more entertainment industry trivia and useless facts, just ask:
John Grimshaw
Managing Director
Stage Fast Pty Ltd

User avatar
RobertBell
Posts: 2421
Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2007 1:11 pm
Primary Venue / Use: Other
Where I Am: Horizon Control Inc
Location: On the dark side just north of Toronto
Contact:

Re: macro question

Post by RobertBell » Mon Mar 09, 2009 10:56 am

Cool idea John - :added: FS1388
Robert Bell - Product Manager - Horizon Control Inc.

User avatar
TaineGilliam
Posts: 1184
Joined: Tue Oct 23, 2007 5:15 pm
Location: Cleveland, OH
Contact:

Re: macro question

Post by TaineGilliam » Mon Mar 09, 2009 3:52 pm

Very nice John.

Post Reply