FX question

Questions on Palette and Light Palette operation and features
User avatar
mat
Posts: 448
Joined: Thu Nov 15, 2007 12:05 pm
Primary Venue / Use: Professional Theatre
Where I Am: An opera in France
Location: Dijon;France
Contact:

FX question

Post by mat » Mon Feb 23, 2009 11:18 am

how can I do this?
I want channel 1/8 to be @50% in a sub or in a cue.
And I want a square wave wrap on channels 1/8 on a sub to go up on it .
I want my chase to bring intensity at the moment it is at 51% but not to bring 1/8 to zero.I want the lower intensities of 1/8 to be 50%.
I tried to have same priorities,to create a chase with a cuelist,nothing works for me.


thanks
Mat-Opera de Dijon
France
lightpalette VL
palette VL 16
10.8.8

User avatar
BrianEvans
Posts: 700
Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2007 1:11 pm
Location: Orlando, Florida

Re: FX question

Post by BrianEvans » Mon Feb 23, 2009 12:00 pm

You can set the "Size" of the effect to "Hi/Lo",
and then you can specify the minimum and maximum percentage for the effect.

The "Size" of the effect is deafult to "Scale".
Brian Evans - System Specialist - Horizon Control Inc.

User avatar
gooze
Posts: 1760
Joined: Tue Dec 18, 2007 12:42 pm
Location: Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: FX question

Post by gooze » Mon Feb 23, 2009 1:15 pm

You can also choose if the effect uses the base level of the channels (50%) and then make that value higher and lower, determined by the size of the effect. Or that an effect can only add to the base level of those channels.
Floriaan Ganzevoort - Lighting designer
THEATERMACHINE design. production. operations.

User avatar
RobertBell
Posts: 2421
Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2007 1:11 pm
Primary Venue / Use: Other
Where I Am: Horizon Control Inc
Location: On the dark side just north of Toronto
Contact:

Re: FX question

Post by RobertBell » Mon Feb 23, 2009 1:47 pm

Maybe Brian and Gooze have had more success than I, but I believe there IS a fundamental problem with this. I find that setting the HI/LOW values on a sub FX and running it, once it takes over, the value will drop below 50% (even if both are HTP). Brian has been asking for a long time for an equivalent of HI/LOW which is ACTIVE/UNDERLYING. He wants a base cue setting LEDs to Blue and an FX to pop them randomly to Red. This is similar to what Mat wants (base value of 50% and FX bumping to 100%).

Gary and talked about this today and are keeping our fingers crossed for a solution. He's going to try something later this week.

If I have this wrong and either of you two (Brian or Gooze) have actually achieved what Mat has asked for in real life, please let me know. I couldn't
Robert Bell - Product Manager - Horizon Control Inc.

User avatar
mat
Posts: 448
Joined: Thu Nov 15, 2007 12:05 pm
Primary Venue / Use: Professional Theatre
Where I Am: An opera in France
Location: Dijon;France
Contact:

Re: FX question

Post by mat » Mon Feb 23, 2009 3:04 pm

thank all of you for anwsering me,
Brian and gooze I tried your way to do it,that is not really what I expected.
What I want for example is to have a chase on one sub and on another sub the channels use in the chase.
I want these two subs work together,i want them to be equal priority,i want to merge them onstage : In my show I want 1/8 to be at full on a sub and in a chase on another.I have both of them at full then i want to slide down the non chase sub slowly to "background my chase" with many intensities.This is not possible even with a cue.

The thing is there is a priority problem.

I hope i am understood.

Thanks again!
Mat-Opera de Dijon
France
lightpalette VL
palette VL 16
10.8.8

User avatar
TaineGilliam
Posts: 1183
Joined: Tue Oct 23, 2007 5:15 pm
Location: Cleveland, OH
Contact:

Re: FX question

Post by TaineGilliam » Mon Feb 23, 2009 3:35 pm

I've also been part of the chorus asking for the ability to "layer" effects. I'm sure the ability to have subs on effects will make this even more pressing. My dream of true layering will certainly be harder than the current issue.

It sounds like Brian's solution was a matter of setting the low for the effect to 50% would help and it might for the very specific case. The more general case of Low=Underlying is harder.

Gooze is, I imagine, was hoping that Apply/Add Value might be the ticket to this but again I'm not having much luck.

My test was a simple Intensity Block Wrap.

Size=Hi/Lo / [Low]High=[50%]100% / Apply=Hard Value seems correct.

Size=Hi/Lo / [Low]High=[0%]50% / Apply=Add Value seems incorrect.

With Add Value should Lo & Hi be able to go negative? Are the different Size options explained anywhere? Scale and Hi/Lo make sense for the most part but the others are more opaque.

Taine

User avatar
BrianEvans
Posts: 700
Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2007 1:11 pm
Location: Orlando, Florida

Re: FX question

Post by BrianEvans » Mon Feb 23, 2009 4:05 pm

The development team has on their plate,
the request that will make effects usable,
like Rob said.

I have presented 2 simple effects to the team that can't be done at current,
if they make them work like they should, I think everyone will be happy.

It is a big bite to chew.
Brian Evans - System Specialist - Horizon Control Inc.

claire
Posts: 44
Joined: Thu Nov 06, 2008 1:35 pm

Re: FX question

Post by claire » Mon Mar 02, 2009 5:51 am

hi there..
ive kinda had the same problem with fx, i cant get my head round all the soft keys and intensity effects, some one recommended to me doing a seperate cue list and putting in cues as steps then going back to your 'main cue list' and adding the effects from other cue lists into cues by going in to the Action box next to times on the cue, i found this so much easier cause you can actually set steps to do what you want rather than setting it up and trying to change soft keys.. i dont know if this will help but i know its helped me get what i want from the effects in the desk...
claire

User avatar
mat
Posts: 448
Joined: Thu Nov 15, 2007 12:05 pm
Primary Venue / Use: Professional Theatre
Where I Am: An opera in France
Location: Dijon;France
Contact:

Re: FX question

Post by mat » Wed Apr 08, 2009 7:41 am

with new bump fx I tried to do what I dream of, with no success.
Having two subs with the same fixtures in, one with a chase, the other with intensities.
And there is no way to use it together, to mix it,in order to make the chase appear and disappear nicely.
Mat-Opera de Dijon
France
lightpalette VL
palette VL 16
10.8.8

User avatar
BobbyHarrell
Posts: 2294
Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2007 10:51 am
Location: Livingston, NJ
Contact:

Re: FX question

Post by BobbyHarrell » Wed Apr 08, 2009 10:42 am

Claire made a good point and while it won't fix Mat's issue it's good that everyone remembers that there are 3 ways to do effects.

1. Effects engine
2. Hybrid where you build a cue list with cues as steps and use the effects engine to trigger it.
3. Old School - build a cue list and set all cues with correct times and follows. Then go to your main cue list and create a macro that triggers the other cue list.
Bobby Harrell - Product Specialist
Philips Entertainment - Strand Lighting

Post Reply