Configuring N21 DMX Nodes from the console

Questions on Palette and Light Palette operation and features
User avatar
bnortin
Posts: 249
Joined: Wed Sep 10, 2008 4:03 pm
Primary Venue / Use: Professional Theatre
Where I Am: Houston, TX
Location: Houston, TX
Contact:

Configuring N21 DMX Nodes from the console

Post by bnortin » Fri Jan 23, 2009 4:43 pm

In the manual for the N21 nodes it says that they should be configured using Firefox, however the console only has Internet Explorer. I've tried using IE on our Light Palette VL to change settings and it occasionally works, but more often than not I get an error. Is there any possibility of getting Firefox on the console or making the nodes compatible with Internet Explorer? Thanks.
Bryan Nortin
Electrician - Miller Outdoor Theatre - Houston, TX
ETCP Certified Entertainment Electrician #1619
Light Palette VL 10.8.8
Light Palette Live 10.8.8

User avatar
gooze
Posts: 1760
Joined: Tue Dec 18, 2007 12:42 pm
Location: Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Configuring N21 DMX Nodes from the console

Post by gooze » Fri Jan 23, 2009 5:35 pm

Firefox would fit in nicely with the open source approach...
Floriaan Ganzevoort - Lighting designer
THEATERMACHINE design. production. operations.

MattKlasmeier
Posts: 491
Joined: Tue Oct 23, 2007 1:41 pm
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Contact:

Re: Configuring N21 DMX Nodes from the console

Post by MattKlasmeier » Fri Jan 23, 2009 5:39 pm

Depending on the image on the hard drive fire fox may already be installed. Look under additional applications on the control panel. It is located toward the bottom center of the control panel box. It looks like a file folder. If you do not have it installed contact your local service center and see if they can re-image your processor. Another way to make it work is to use a portable app. Below is a link to learn more about portable applications.

http://portableapps.com/apps/internet/firefox_portable

User avatar
bnortin
Posts: 249
Joined: Wed Sep 10, 2008 4:03 pm
Primary Venue / Use: Professional Theatre
Where I Am: Houston, TX
Location: Houston, TX
Contact:

Re: Configuring N21 DMX Nodes from the console

Post by bnortin » Tue Mar 24, 2009 1:29 pm

I've been using the Firefox Portable app and it seems to work just fine. It would still be nice to see it on the console at some point but this works for now. Is there any possibility of getting it on the RFU as well?

And just a random question, Firefox keeps freezing as soon as I click update after changing the IP address of a node. It's not something that is done often, but it was a little annoying this morning since I was configuring 7 new N21's. Is this an issue with Firefox or the config software?

Thanks for the help.
Bryan Nortin
Electrician - Miller Outdoor Theatre - Houston, TX
ETCP Certified Entertainment Electrician #1619
Light Palette VL 10.8.8
Light Palette Live 10.8.8

User avatar
BrianEvans
Posts: 700
Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2007 1:11 pm
Location: Orlando, Florida

Re: Configuring N21 DMX Nodes from the console

Post by BrianEvans » Tue Mar 24, 2009 3:11 pm

On newer systems, Firefox is already installed on the processor,
and can be found under "Additional Applications" from the Control Panel.
(Icon is at the bottom and looks like a folder).

Firefox freezing is a Firefox problem.
You have just changed the IP address of the device,
therefore, Firefox no longer has a connection to the IP address you started with.

No different than opening a web browser on a PC that has no internet connection.

PAAAAUUUUUSSSSSEEEE.
Brian Evans - System Specialist - Horizon Control Inc.

User avatar
bnortin
Posts: 249
Joined: Wed Sep 10, 2008 4:03 pm
Primary Venue / Use: Professional Theatre
Where I Am: Houston, TX
Location: Houston, TX
Contact:

Re: Configuring N21 DMX Nodes from the console

Post by bnortin » Tue Mar 24, 2009 5:18 pm

That's good to hear, we're buying a Light Palette Live right now so I'm glad it's already on there. Is there a way to add it to our Light Palette VL that we bought in October of '08? And the RFU?
Bryan Nortin
Electrician - Miller Outdoor Theatre - Houston, TX
ETCP Certified Entertainment Electrician #1619
Light Palette VL 10.8.8
Light Palette Live 10.8.8

robhillig

Re: Configuring N21 DMX Nodes from the console

Post by robhillig » Tue Mar 24, 2009 5:19 pm

From an RFU you can use the IE and use 192.168.0.xxx/mini (insert your IP address). This will open a text only version of the configuration windows.

(You can do this from the console as well if all you want to do is configure.)

User avatar
JohnGrimshaw
Posts: 1233
Joined: Tue Oct 16, 2007 12:51 pm
Primary Venue / Use: Other
Where I Am: International Man of Mystery
Location: Sydney, Australia
Contact:

Re: Configuring N21 DMX Nodes from the console

Post by JohnGrimshaw » Fri Mar 27, 2009 1:33 am

For the Light Palette - get your Strand service supplier to "re-image" your hard drive. That will put the latest apps in the right places.
...and for more entertainment industry trivia and useless facts, just ask:
John Grimshaw
Managing Director
Stage Fast Pty Ltd

User avatar
BrianEvans
Posts: 700
Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2007 1:11 pm
Location: Orlando, Florida

Re: Configuring N21 DMX Nodes from the console

Post by BrianEvans » Fri Mar 27, 2009 8:32 am

Here is a copy of the Firefox for consoles.
Installs like a software or library update.

Just place in Public D:\ and reboot.

http://www.horizoncontrol.com/ptest/pub ... eSetup.exe

Then you can run it from the "Additional Apps" section of the Control Panel.
Brian Evans - System Specialist - Horizon Control Inc.

User avatar
amoyer
Posts: 380
Joined: Tue Mar 11, 2008 5:28 pm
Location: Oakville, ON

Re: Configuring N21 DMX Nodes from the console

Post by amoyer » Fri Mar 27, 2009 10:30 am

Thank you for that Brian!
Andrew Moyer - Oakville Centre for the Performing Arts
Light Palette Live (v10.8.6)
Rack Palette (v10.8.6)
Classic Palette ii(v10.8.5)

Post Reply