External keyboard key for hardware keys

Questions on Palette and Light Palette operation and features
Post Reply
User avatar
gooze
Posts: 1760
Joined: Tue Dec 18, 2007 12:42 pm
Location: Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contact:

External keyboard key for hardware keys

Post by gooze » Thu Nov 20, 2008 5:54 am

Is there a key on your external keyboard (and therefore on the off-line editor) for the hardware keys for Position, Color, Gobo, Lens?
If not, could you make one? On some commands these keys disappear from the S-keys where you would want to use them.
This could be very usefull if you press [UPDATE] and want to specify that you want to update the position only, or the color only. Or both position and color.
Floriaan Ganzevoort - Lighting designer
THEATERMACHINE design. production. operations.

User avatar
RobertBell
Posts: 2421
Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2007 1:11 pm
Primary Venue / Use: Other
Where I Am: Horizon Control Inc
Location: On the dark side just north of Toronto
Contact:

Re: External keyboard key for hardware keys

Post by RobertBell » Thu Nov 20, 2008 10:54 am

UPDATE populates the green softkeys 5 through 9 to do the filtering.
(and there is no QWERTY eq. for the hard LP [POS] etc. buttons - we believe you should not need them. If you find a place where you could use them - let us know.)
Robert Bell - Product Manager - Horizon Control Inc.

User avatar
gooze
Posts: 1760
Joined: Tue Dec 18, 2007 12:42 pm
Location: Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: External keyboard key for hardware keys

Post by gooze » Fri Nov 21, 2008 3:54 am

The keys that you mean are filters. What I would like to see is a way to update the positionlook without touching the mouse.

Example:
You are in a cue with a movinglight at position 1-DSC, move the pan by 2 degrees.

In the current situation if you press [UPDATE]{M5 +Pos} it updates the position, but the hard values will be stored in the cue.

What I would like to see is:
Press [UPDATE] and then the console key (or external keyboard key) for [POS][Enter] that will do the same as pressing [SHIFT]+[UPDATE] and with the mouse selecting "Position 1 DSC (Palette in current cue)"

(The Move up/Down and toggle check are mouseless altermatives but, to be honest, a bit of a poor interface...)

Most of the time you can get away with just updating every position palette, if you don't want it you can press [SHIFT]+[UPDATE] to differentiate.
Floriaan Ganzevoort - Lighting designer
THEATERMACHINE design. production. operations.

Post Reply