DL2/DL3

Questions on Palette and Light Palette operation and features
User avatar
amoyer
Posts: 380
Joined: Tue Mar 11, 2008 5:28 pm
Location: Oakville, ON

DL2/DL3

Post by amoyer » Sat Nov 08, 2008 10:26 pm

Just curious if anyone has had a chance to use Highend's DL2 or DL3s with the Palette OS. Although, since the fixture profile for the DL3 doesn't exist in 10.4.2's fixture library I assume that no one has had an opportunity with the DL3.

We are doing a production of Hair in February that is going to include a pair of either DL2s or DL3s. I would like to know if they were difficult to program with the Palette OS, if there are any suggestions or things to avoid.

On the topic of DL3s, maybe Brian could do his little magic to make it appear in the next fixture library to appear with the software. I believe we are getting a demo of either the DL2 or DL3 in January to make sure that everything is working fine, as both the LD and myself would rather not have to use a Hog as well as the Light Palette.
Andrew Moyer - Oakville Centre for the Performing Arts
Light Palette Live (v10.8.6)
Rack Palette (v10.8.6)
Classic Palette ii(v10.8.5)

User avatar
JohnGrimshaw
Posts: 1233
Joined: Tue Oct 16, 2007 12:51 pm
Primary Venue / Use: Other
Where I Am: International Man of Mystery
Location: Sydney, Australia
Contact:

Re: DL2/DL3

Post by JohnGrimshaw » Sun Nov 09, 2008 2:44 am

I have done a "little" bit with these, but more with the ROBE equivalent. The big problem I had was navigating the many menus hidden under the various attribute parameters. It was actually using these lights that led to my request...
viewtopic.php?f=30&t=659&hilit=+attributelabels

This request was :added: as FS731 - but I am still waiting for implimentation.

I would recommend making extensive use of palettes, and as much pre-programming as you can do to get familiar with the lights and the control before you use them on the show. That way, if there are "problems" with the fixture profiles, then you can request corrections before the show is on top of you.
...and for more entertainment industry trivia and useless facts, just ask:
John Grimshaw
Managing Director
Stage Fast Pty Ltd

User avatar
BrianEvans
Posts: 700
Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2007 1:11 pm
Location: Orlando, Florida

Re: DL2/DL3

Post by BrianEvans » Sun Nov 09, 2008 7:48 am

The libraries for the DL2 and DL3 are identical.
The next release will just be a clone.
Brian Evans - System Specialist - Horizon Control Inc.

User avatar
amoyer
Posts: 380
Joined: Tue Mar 11, 2008 5:28 pm
Location: Oakville, ON

Re: DL2/DL3

Post by amoyer » Sun Nov 09, 2008 3:04 pm

Brian, thanks for the clone. I hadn't looked at the DMX channels to compare the two.

John, thanks for the suggestions. I will definitely start working on setting up the palettes for the fixture. It's nice to know that whether it is a DL2 or DL3 that it doesn't change the information that the palettes are built upon.

Hopefully the video designer and lighting designer can look through the stock media files sooner then later to give me an idea of what they plan on using, I don't really want to build palettes for the entire stock media.
Andrew Moyer - Oakville Centre for the Performing Arts
Light Palette Live (v10.8.6)
Rack Palette (v10.8.6)
Classic Palette ii(v10.8.5)

User avatar
BrianEvans
Posts: 700
Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2007 1:11 pm
Location: Orlando, Florida

Re: DL2/DL3

Post by BrianEvans » Sun Nov 09, 2008 10:18 pm

With all the lawsuits that PRG is filing against the world,
we are in a bind with ever doing anything useful with media servers in the future.
Brian Evans - System Specialist - Horizon Control Inc.

User avatar
amoyer
Posts: 380
Joined: Tue Mar 11, 2008 5:28 pm
Location: Oakville, ON

Re: DL2/DL3

Post by amoyer » Sun Nov 09, 2008 11:59 pm

Hmm... all I could find about a PRG lawsuit was a couple of brief articles mentioning patent infringement.

http://livedesignonline.com/news/PRG_Ma ... suit_0806/

So how does this impact the future of media servers? No more products from anyone until these patent issues are worked out?
Andrew Moyer - Oakville Centre for the Performing Arts
Light Palette Live (v10.8.6)
Rack Palette (v10.8.6)
Classic Palette ii(v10.8.5)

User avatar
amoyer
Posts: 380
Joined: Tue Mar 11, 2008 5:28 pm
Location: Oakville, ON

Re: DL2/DL3

Post by amoyer » Mon Nov 10, 2008 1:55 am

BrianEvans wrote:The libraries for the DL2 and DL3 are identical.
The next release will just be a clone.
One thing I noticed while trying to build some palettes for the DL2/DL3 is that the control function (channel 10 on the projector fixture) to change the Graphics Engine Inputs to S-Video (which also sends the Internal Camera to the Camera Out) is not something I can select. Also the restore back to the default (Internal Camera to Graphics Engine) would need to exist as well.

The use of the camera is something that we have talked about already and I would like to make sure that feature is something that we can send between either fixture.
Andrew Moyer - Oakville Centre for the Performing Arts
Light Palette Live (v10.8.6)
Rack Palette (v10.8.6)
Classic Palette ii(v10.8.5)

User avatar
BrianEvans
Posts: 700
Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2007 1:11 pm
Location: Orlando, Florida

Re: DL2/DL3

Post by BrianEvans » Mon Nov 10, 2008 8:47 am

No prob.

I'll make that addition before cloning.
Brian Evans - System Specialist - Horizon Control Inc.

Oliver
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Feb 27, 2008 8:38 pm
Location: London, UK

Re: DL2/DL3

Post by Oliver » Wed Nov 12, 2008 12:22 pm

Hi Andrew,

I can say i have successfully used DL.2's on a Light Palette VL so can confirm the functionality of the fixture library, the one tip i can give you is to look through the DL.2 manual and make a note of the default values in the DMX Protocol as when you first connect up the units you will struggle to get any output until the correct values are present.

Would it not be more usefull if these values were default in any further library updates?

(On a different note: High End have recently updated DL. Series software to V1.4, which improves many of the functions, particularly frame playback. It's worth checking that the units you get have the newer software on)

User avatar
BrianEvans
Posts: 700
Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2007 1:11 pm
Location: Orlando, Florida

Re: DL2/DL3

Post by BrianEvans » Wed Nov 12, 2008 12:36 pm

The current library is available in this web folder:
http://www.horizoncontrol.com/downloadmq/V10/

It isn't practical to have large amounts of text selections,
so on the control channel, the functions you requested to get to are available as an 8-Bit DMX value beyond the last text selection.
This range allows you to select a DMX Value between 180 to 255, so if you cross reference the manual,
you'll be able to access all of those custom features.
IE: S-Video in to graphics engine is 229.

OLIVER:
If you send me a show file that has a cue that sets all of the values to the "BEST" default settings,
I can update the library.
Very recently a request I made to the team for specification of default values on a fixture basis has been implemented.
Brian Evans - System Specialist - Horizon Control Inc.

Post Reply