Calling all Ascii Cue files

Questions on Palette and Light Palette operation and features
Post Reply
GaryDouglas
Posts: 689
Joined: Thu Oct 11, 2007 9:33 pm
Location: Calgary, Canada

Calling all Ascii Cue files

Post by GaryDouglas » Fri Nov 07, 2008 6:54 pm

Hi everybody,

I'm looking to improve and test our ability to import Ascii Cue files from various consoles old and new. In order to do that I need help in the form of files from real shows, and help in determining if we imported them correctly.

I'm looking for shows from Express, Expression, EOS/ION, Congo, 500/300, and whatever else may spit them out.

Anybody willing to send files please post them here, or e-mail me directly (if you want to keep all of your programming to yourself). I'm at gary@horizoncontrol.com .

I'd like to see shows with AND without moving lights, as well as really simple and really complex shows.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks in advance!
Gary Douglas - Lead Software Developer - Pathway Connectivity - A Division of Acuity Brands Lighting Canada.

User avatar
amoyer
Posts: 380
Joined: Tue Mar 11, 2008 5:28 pm
Location: Oakville, ON

Re: Calling all Ascii Cue files

Post by amoyer » Fri Nov 07, 2008 11:32 pm

Since you can't attach .asc files I have emailed you.
Andrew Moyer - Oakville Centre for the Performing Arts
Light Palette Live (v10.8.6)
Rack Palette (v10.8.6)
Classic Palette ii(v10.8.5)

User avatar
AlanMartello
Posts: 500
Joined: Thu Oct 11, 2007 9:00 pm
Primary Venue / Use: Other
Where I Am: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania USA
Location: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania

Re: Calling all Ascii Cue files

Post by AlanMartello » Mon Nov 10, 2008 12:43 pm

amoyer wrote:Since you can't attach .asc files I have emailed you.
We have added the ability to add .asc and .alq files to the forums.
Alan Martello, Ph.D. - System Architect - Horizon Control Inc.

User avatar
gooze
Posts: 1760
Joined: Tue Dec 18, 2007 12:42 pm
Location: Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Calling all Ascii Cue files

Post by gooze » Mon Nov 10, 2008 8:01 pm

I've tried to export an ascii file to an ADB Mentor today. The mentor could read it was from a Strand Palette. But no submasters, no patch. The cues were there with the correct timing and texts, but no intensity levels.
This was a non moving light show. ADB wants the file to be named .asc, instead of .alq
I had to manually rename the file.
Floriaan Ganzevoort - Lighting designer
THEATERMACHINE design. production. operations.

User avatar
amoyer
Posts: 380
Joined: Tue Mar 11, 2008 5:28 pm
Location: Oakville, ON

Re: Calling all Ascii Cue files

Post by amoyer » Thu Nov 20, 2008 8:31 pm

On this topic, I have show that is next going to a couple of venues that are running 500 series consoles. I know that I can export a file from the Palette OS to either an Ascii Cue file (.alq) or as a .csv file. The problem I am having is that I now take either of those files and try and convert them to .ssf files using ShowPort and it sees the files but the conversion log shows nothing beyond "proccesing". No progress. I'm posting the files here just in case someone else wants to give it a shot. The exports were done in 10.4.12 and 10.4.11, both having the same failure.
Attachments
kdt - asbt_00001.spb_20081121_002556_CueList_Main Cue List.csv
CSV export
(5.86 KiB) Downloaded 59 times
KDT - ASBT.spf
Show file
(41.8 KiB) Downloaded 49 times
kdt - asbt.ALQ
Ascii cue export
(107.66 KiB) Downloaded 70 times
Andrew Moyer - Oakville Centre for the Performing Arts
Light Palette Live (v10.8.6)
Rack Palette (v10.8.6)
Classic Palette ii(v10.8.5)

User avatar
JohnGrimshaw
Posts: 1233
Joined: Tue Oct 16, 2007 12:51 pm
Primary Venue / Use: Other
Where I Am: International Man of Mystery
Location: Sydney, Australia
Contact:

Re: Calling all Ascii Cue files

Post by JohnGrimshaw » Fri Nov 21, 2008 3:21 am

Don't ask me "why", but ShowPort will ONLY work on ascii files that are .txt files
...and for more entertainment industry trivia and useless facts, just ask:
John Grimshaw
Managing Director
Stage Fast Pty Ltd

User avatar
amoyer
Posts: 380
Joined: Tue Mar 11, 2008 5:28 pm
Location: Oakville, ON

Re: Calling all Ascii Cue files

Post by amoyer » Fri Nov 21, 2008 9:40 am

That is starting to ring a bell now. Converted but there was an error. I imported the .ssf back into Palette OS and the show looks fine so I'm not sure where the error was. Thanks for the reminder John.
Andrew Moyer - Oakville Centre for the Performing Arts
Light Palette Live (v10.8.6)
Rack Palette (v10.8.6)
Classic Palette ii(v10.8.5)

User avatar
amoyer
Posts: 380
Joined: Tue Mar 11, 2008 5:28 pm
Location: Oakville, ON

Re: Calling all Ascii Cue files

Post by amoyer » Fri Nov 21, 2008 9:45 am

Is there any way that we could get an export SSF feature added to the Palette OS?
Andrew Moyer - Oakville Centre for the Performing Arts
Light Palette Live (v10.8.6)
Rack Palette (v10.8.6)
Classic Palette ii(v10.8.5)

Post Reply