Autodiscovery in network

Questions on Palette and Light Palette operation and features
Post Reply
User avatar
gooze
Posts: 1760
Joined: Tue Dec 18, 2007 12:42 pm
Location: Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contact:

Autodiscovery in network

Post by gooze » Tue Oct 28, 2008 4:01 am

Is it possible (since the console is ACN capable) to auto-discover the desk in a network and give it a sensible name?

Here is why:
Now, when I want to start a remote session, I have to walk over to the desk, press [S4 - Control panel], hover over the network icon with my mouse, write down the consoles ip-adress (probably it disappears before I finish writing by the way), walk back to wherever remote spot I had chosen to start the remote session, give it the ip-adress (then it always says first, that it cannot find the console, the second attempt always works...) and finally I can get to work.
Now I happen to work with the same laptop on multiple consoles, instead of getting a nice list with sensible console names, I get a list of ip-adresses to choose from.
This is only one laptop, I can imagine working with one console, one tracking back-up console, a stagemanagers remote videosession, a designers remote video, a 1st electricians handheld remote and a 2nd operators online remote session on a laptop. How long would it take to setup this system?
Floriaan Ganzevoort - Lighting designer
THEATERMACHINE design. production. operations.

User avatar
BrianEvans
Posts: 700
Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2007 1:11 pm
Location: Orlando, Florida

Re: Autodiscovery in network

Post by BrianEvans » Tue Oct 28, 2008 8:10 am

If your devices had been given sensible names,
you can type those in.

The IP address is not necessary.

You can type PaletteVL and it would connect properly.
Brian Evans - System Specialist - Horizon Control Inc.

User avatar
RobertBell
Posts: 2421
Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2007 1:11 pm
Primary Venue / Use: Other
Where I Am: Horizon Control Inc
Location: On the dark side just north of Toronto
Contact:

Re: Autodiscovery in network

Post by RobertBell » Tue Oct 28, 2008 8:17 am

BrianEvans wrote:You can type PaletteVL and it would connect properly.
Only if there is a proper DHCP server on the network. Ad-Hoc IP connection sharing will not resolve names. You must use ip addresses.
Robert Bell - Product Manager - Horizon Control Inc.

User avatar
BobbyHarrell
Posts: 2291
Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2007 10:51 am
Location: Livingston, NJ
Contact:

Re: Autodiscovery in network

Post by BobbyHarrell » Tue Oct 28, 2008 10:31 am

As a separate issue but something this is related, when Control Panel 5.7 is released, it will allow you to connect remotely from a console.
Bobby Harrell - Product Specialist
Philips Entertainment - Strand Lighting

User avatar
gooze
Posts: 1760
Joined: Tue Dec 18, 2007 12:42 pm
Location: Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Autodiscovery in network

Post by gooze » Tue Oct 28, 2008 11:26 am

Is this a windows network setting or is the desk visible as an ACN device? Where do I set this with the control panel? I am not at a desk, so I cannot try.
I know that if you open the network settings, you see two network adapters. Where do I make the change?
Floriaan Ganzevoort - Lighting designer
THEATERMACHINE design. production. operations.

MattKlasmeier
Posts: 491
Joined: Tue Oct 23, 2007 1:41 pm
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Contact:

Re: Autodiscovery in network

Post by MattKlasmeier » Tue Oct 28, 2008 12:45 pm

Gooze,

What they are talking about is a Windows network setting. In order to change the mane of the console you must run an application in the "Horizon" folder called Change Name. As Robert said you must have a DHCP server running. Most lighting systems are setup with fixed IP address and no server. This means the names will not work.

As for ACN discovery. Currently the Palette family is only supporting E1.31 which is known as "Lightweight streaming protocol for transport of DMX512 using ACN " (Please correct me if I'm wrong on any of this) E1.31 is just a way to transport DMX . It is a simple protocol that is easy to implement in devises that is not as processor intensive as processing full ACN E1.17. E1.17 is the full blown ACN protocol that supports the discovery process. I also believe that it is not fully completed at this time. So we will have a little more time until consoles and fixtures can discover what is on the network.

User avatar
RobertBell
Posts: 2421
Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2007 1:11 pm
Primary Venue / Use: Other
Where I Am: Horizon Control Inc
Location: On the dark side just north of Toronto
Contact:

Re: Autodiscovery in network

Post by RobertBell » Tue Oct 28, 2008 11:00 pm

MattKlasmeier wrote:In order to change the mane of the console you must run an application in the "Horizon" folder called Change Name. As Robert said you must have a DHCP server running. Most lighting systems are setup with fixed IP address and no server. This means the names will not work.
To run ChangeComputerName, you must use the Maintenance dialog box (Ctrl-Click on Shutdown, choose Maintenance, type in P/W (if you have control panel 5.7 you should be able to guess at the p/w - if not mail me) then choose ChangeComputerName.

The problem with DHCP servers is that each machine can have their IP Lease expire at any time (thus potentially changing their IP address). This is in the 'not-so-good-in-a-live-situation' category.
Robert Bell - Product Manager - Horizon Control Inc.

Post Reply