Classic Pallet with a 301 at the SM station

Questions on Palette and Light Palette operation and features
Post Reply
gafftaper
Posts: 26
Joined: Tue Apr 01, 2008 2:18 pm
Primary Venue / Use: Other School
Where I Am: Washington State

Classic Pallet with a 301 at the SM station

Post by gafftaper » Fri Oct 10, 2008 3:26 am

Hi,

System:
I've got a Classic Palette connected to the dimmers, and DMX nodes via Shownet. I also have a 301 at the Stage Manager's panel that is connected via a hard DMX line. DMX out from the Palette goes straight to the 301. I have a set of lights with Ocean Optics Seachangers.

Question:
So let's say I have a Seachanger on chanel 20. I turn on 20, I set the Seachanger to red. It all looks good. I run down to the SM pannel and record that cue to a sub on the 301 so I can play it back remotely. It records. Release channel 20 and the color data on the Palette. Run the cue from the 301. It runs however there is no color in the Seachanger.

What's going on? Am I doing something wrong? Can the 301 just not record color information?
Don't Worry. I've screwed up bigger shows than this!

User avatar
JohnGrimshaw
Posts: 1233
Joined: Tue Oct 16, 2007 12:51 pm
Primary Venue / Use: Other
Where I Am: International Man of Mystery
Location: Sydney, Australia
Contact:

Re: Classic Pallet with a 301 at the SM station

Post by JohnGrimshaw » Fri Oct 10, 2008 5:36 am

The 301 "should" snapshot record the entire DMX stream. As long as the colour control is in the same stream, it should work.
...and for more entertainment industry trivia and useless facts, just ask:
John Grimshaw
Managing Director
Stage Fast Pty Ltd

User avatar
GregBecker
Posts: 17
Joined: Thu Jan 03, 2008 3:38 pm
Location: Chicago, IL

Re: Classic Pallet with a 301 at the SM station

Post by GregBecker » Fri Oct 10, 2008 9:48 am

Where does your DMX go after the 301 console? If it goes straight to your racks it may not be going back into your Shownet system.

MattKlasmeier
Posts: 491
Joined: Tue Oct 23, 2007 1:41 pm
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Contact:

Re: Classic Pallet with a 301 at the SM station

Post by MattKlasmeier » Fri Oct 10, 2008 5:20 pm

My guess is that your Sea Changers are getting DMX from the Nodes and more than likely it is from the second universe. If this is the case it would take some creative network patching to get them into the 301. Where are you located?

User avatar
gooze
Posts: 1760
Joined: Tue Dec 18, 2007 12:42 pm
Location: Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Classic Pallet with a 301 at the SM station

Post by gooze » Sat Oct 11, 2008 8:56 am

Why don't you use shownet to get the data into the 301?
Floriaan Ganzevoort - Lighting designer
THEATERMACHINE design. production. operations.

robhillig

Re: Classic Pallet with a 301 at the SM station

Post by robhillig » Sun Oct 12, 2008 12:53 pm

And back out.

That is NODE OUT-->301 DMX IN-->301DMX OUT---> NODE IN

This will require writing rules that will allow the DMX from the 301 back onto the network (some netslot start address away from where it came off). And the node by the Seachanger would require a second subordinate rule to take that DMX off the network and had it to the device (but only when the main source is off...priority much?)

R

gafftaper
Posts: 26
Joined: Tue Apr 01, 2008 2:18 pm
Primary Venue / Use: Other School
Where I Am: Washington State

Re: Classic Pallet with a 301 at the SM station

Post by gafftaper » Mon Oct 13, 2008 2:40 pm

Thanks, I think Greg Becker hit it right. The hard DMX line goes to the 301 and then straight to the racks as DMX A. So any color data doesn't get put into the shownet system. If we put the 301 in and out of a node off the shownet line instead of the hard dmx line that would take care of it.
Don't Worry. I've screwed up bigger shows than this!

Post Reply