Old features i miss

Questions on Palette and Light Palette operation and features
User avatar
amoyer
Posts: 380
Joined: Tue Mar 11, 2008 5:28 pm
Location: Oakville, ON

Re: Old features i miss

Post by amoyer » Sat Oct 04, 2008 8:29 pm

Phil wrote:While i remember on the topic of blind, we have RFU 3, while i'm in blind (updating alot) the remote onstage calls channels up in blind and not live? Again not a usefull feature.
This goes back to what Alan had mentioned about the a future update to the RFU.
Alan wrote:The prime motivation is to make the RFU its own user so both the RFU and console can be used independently.
Andrew Moyer - Oakville Centre for the Performing Arts
Light Palette Live (v10.8.6)
Rack Palette (v10.8.6)
Classic Palette ii(v10.8.5)

User avatar
gooze
Posts: 1760
Joined: Tue Dec 18, 2007 12:42 pm
Location: Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Old features i miss

Post by gooze » Sun Oct 05, 2008 4:23 am

Phil wrote:I'm not sure why anyone would want to output blind data to a emulator? I certainly don't care what blind looks like as a visual representation, and can't really see how it's a usefull feature when plotting.
On the 500 preview could be set to run one cue ahead of the cue on stage. That's very useful information to see in your visualiser. You can see what is going to go wrong and be in time to do something about it.
Basically you saw the cue that was 'loaded' on your GO-button...
Floriaan Ganzevoort - Lighting designer
THEATERMACHINE design. production. operations.

User avatar
jgoss
Posts: 51
Joined: Fri Oct 17, 2008 10:29 pm
Primary Venue / Use: Professional Theatre
Where I Am: Miami, Florida USA
Location: Miami, FL

Re: Old features i miss

Post by jgoss » Fri Oct 17, 2008 10:41 pm

I would whole-heartedly agree that the changes made in Blind on the Light Palette should not require an update command.
This is one of the features that I HATED about the Expression line of consoles. I would make changes in blind, then have to jump back live to make a change & loose or forget what I was doing in blind.
As others have said, we're professionals, if we're working in blind, we know what we're doing.
And if we the users are not yet professionals, we'll learn. :P
Thanks for listening.
-Jon
Jon Goss
Head Electrician, Ballet Opera House
Arsht Center for Performing Arts
Miami, FL

MattKlasmeier
Posts: 491
Joined: Tue Oct 23, 2007 1:41 pm
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Contact:

Re: Old features i miss

Post by MattKlasmeier » Mon Oct 20, 2008 8:53 am

If technically possible I would opt for an option (Rob, I see you rolling your eyes) in the setup screen to be able to set what behavior you want in the blind screen.

User avatar
BobbyHarrell
Posts: 2278
Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2007 10:51 am
Location: Livingston, NJ
Contact:

Re: Old features i miss

Post by BobbyHarrell » Mon Oct 20, 2008 3:49 pm

I think there is always going to be two sides to this story. Currently, the thinking is that we will end up as an option to set this at will.

On the question of blind outputting, the reason this is there is to allow you to set a network route that outputs to a different network route than the one that is outputting live. At that point, WYSIWYG can be set to listen to the blind output and you can go into blind to any cue and the WYG system will display that cue for you. Allows you to stay ahead of the game for quick one-offs when you don't have a lot of time for programming.
Bobby Harrell - Product Specialist
Philips Entertainment - Strand Lighting

robhillig

Re: Old features i miss

Post by robhillig » Tue Oct 21, 2008 11:48 am

I would have to say I prefer that the console only do what I tell it to.

I used to program a MLP90 and had more than a few designers regret lots of changes that had been made in BLIND. Remember some of the older consoles didn't wait for you to EXIT from BLIND. On the MLP90 as soon as you hit * to enter a change it was saved.

How would you like Outlook (the Microsoft product, not the wall station) to send your e-mail every time you hit ENTER? Or Firefox to save a bookmark every time you reduce the window to write an e-mail?

I don't want the computer doing anything I don't tell it to do.

User avatar
JohnGrimshaw
Posts: 1233
Joined: Tue Oct 16, 2007 12:51 pm
Primary Venue / Use: Other
Where I Am: International Man of Mystery
Location: Sydney, Australia
Contact:

Re: Old features i miss

Post by JohnGrimshaw » Wed Oct 22, 2008 6:19 pm

I don't think there will ever be concenus on this issue.
...and for more entertainment industry trivia and useless facts, just ask:
John Grimshaw
Managing Director
Stage Fast Pty Ltd

User avatar
AmberTomlin
Posts: 160
Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2007 1:13 pm
Primary Venue / Use: Trade Shows
Where I Am: London, UK
Location: Strand Lighting Europe

Re: Old features i miss

Post by AmberTomlin » Sun Oct 26, 2008 2:48 pm

I have to say I think I'm woth Rob B on this however I also totally understand why people expect it to update automatically because you have decided to make those changes.

What's great I think about what we have to play with is the scope of two programmers. I can at any point switch between Live and Blind and be doing something completely different and then therefore also come back to where I left off on either page. I don't have to remember where I got up to whilst I was halfway through a note I was changing in Blind when my LD asks for more lights on stage...
Amber Tomlin

Key Account Manager - UK
Philips Entertainment

User avatar
TaineGilliam
Posts: 1183
Joined: Tue Oct 23, 2007 5:15 pm
Location: Cleveland, OH
Contact:

Re: Old features i miss

Post by TaineGilliam » Mon Oct 27, 2008 11:00 am

This would all work better if when I toggled between live and blind I always went back to where I was.

Going from Blind to Live almost always puts me in the Cues display regardless of which display I was in before.

Going from Live to Blind, especially if Blind was previously a Look, does not properly update the display to where I am.

To test: Go to Looks, Sub Page 2 in Live. Switch to Blind. Navigate to Group page, group 5. Return to Live(hmmm. This doesn't look like Kansas, Toto) Switch to Blind again - The left side of the screen has no idea where you are.

Similar issues arise when simply switching from Cues to Looks and back again - The software forgets which look page you were on.

User avatar
BobbyHarrell
Posts: 2278
Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2007 10:51 am
Location: Livingston, NJ
Contact:

Re: Old features i miss

Post by BobbyHarrell » Tue Oct 28, 2008 10:49 am

This is based on a request that I made to Alan. In a theatrical environment, I always want LIVE to take me back to the Live stage environment for cues. Now I think that there can be a better implementation. Robert had a good idea but I can't remember the specifics of it. Robert?
Bobby Harrell - Product Specialist
Philips Entertainment - Strand Lighting

Post Reply