Stacking effects

Questions on Palette and Light Palette operation and features
Post Reply
User avatar
TaineGilliam
Posts: 1183
Joined: Tue Oct 23, 2007 5:15 pm
Location: Cleveland, OH
Contact:

Stacking effects

Post by TaineGilliam » Mon Sep 22, 2008 6:14 pm

Today is the day for effects around here. I'm busy trying to recreate some stuff from a CK iPlayer/ColorPlay show.

Thanks to Robert and Brian for making many of the color fade / rainbow stuff much easier. However, I have a new challage for the experts: Streak and/or Twinkle

The idea here is to have one effect, a slow subtle color shift, active as the background AND overlay the other effect. A streak would be a chunk of fixtures that would move a color block from one end to the other - think Cylon or Knight Rider. A twinkle would be random fixtures that would momentarily change color.

User avatar
BrianEvans
Posts: 700
Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2007 1:11 pm
Location: Orlando, Florida

Re: Stacking effects

Post by BrianEvans » Mon Sep 22, 2008 6:41 pm

The "Twinkle" isn't too bad.

I did something similar at Gettysburg for a "Musketfire" effect.
IE: all fixtures in red, then randomly flash to white.

You'll need to do a cue list chase here.
Each fixture changing to the desired color is an individual cue.

You can play with the cue fade times and "Release Time" in the effect.

Funny these 2 effects are coming up, because I just mentioned to the guys a few weeks ago we need a better solution.
Brian Evans - System Specialist - Horizon Control Inc.

User avatar
BrianEvans
Posts: 700
Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2007 1:11 pm
Location: Orlando, Florida

Re: Stacking effects

Post by BrianEvans » Mon Sep 22, 2008 6:48 pm

The cylon effect is also a cue list chase.
Because of the way the offset chooses cues, what you need is a whole bunch of cues in a row that are duplicates on a cue lisr.
IE: on a "Colors" cue list.
Cues 1 thru 12 all have hard values for all fixtures in red.
Cues 13 thru 24 all have hard values for the fixtures in blue.
(What I do is write Cue 1 Delta, write cue 13 delta, then just copy 1 to 2, etc.)

Once you run the cue list chase, you will play with the offset to get the "bar" the desired size.

Again, these are not GOOD solutions but they work.

All of these types of effects will be MUCH easier once we have image mapping.
Brian Evans - System Specialist - Horizon Control Inc.

User avatar
JohnGrimshaw
Posts: 1233
Joined: Tue Oct 16, 2007 12:51 pm
Primary Venue / Use: Other
Where I Am: International Man of Mystery
Location: Sydney, Australia
Contact:

Re: Stacking effects

Post by JohnGrimshaw » Mon Sep 22, 2008 8:15 pm

BrianEvans wrote:All of these types of effects will be MUCH easier once we have image mapping.
Did some let the cat out of the bag? Where did that ragedy thing run off to?

As regards effects, I think a concerted development effort to work on effects would be highly desirable. Things like:
Make them simpler to create, trigger and release.
The current method of creation takes too many steps. It should be Select Lights, Hit S10. Then use the jog wheel to change the effect type live

Preview effects in Blind
Title says it all.

the ability to put effects on subs
Much discussion has been had on this, and I think some further disection on the suggested approach would be very wise. I, for one, would like to be able to:
- create an effect, and hit [Look] 1 [Record], with the effect triggered as soon as the handle moves off 0, and the intensity faded up with the fader.
- put specific effect "handles" onto faders - for example, the ability to put the "Scale" onto a look, and give it a range of 0% to 200%

Display All Parameters of a Running Effect
Rather then having to cycle through using S10, the ability to see all parameters and their settings, and easily adjust the settings.
...and for more entertainment industry trivia and useless facts, just ask:
John Grimshaw
Managing Director
Stage Fast Pty Ltd

User avatar
TaineGilliam
Posts: 1183
Joined: Tue Oct 23, 2007 5:15 pm
Location: Cleveland, OH
Contact:

Re: Stacking effects

Post by TaineGilliam » Mon Sep 22, 2008 9:33 pm

The trick here is all the fixtures aren't in red but are running a "background" effect. The twinkle or steak need to layer on top of this background.

There is also the issue of creating 100+ cues in the second cue list for the twinkle.

Taine

User avatar
BrianEvans
Posts: 700
Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2007 1:11 pm
Location: Orlando, Florida

Re: Stacking effects

Post by BrianEvans » Tue Sep 23, 2008 6:09 am

Hang in there Taine.

At a cheap diner in Gettysburg, I had a discussion with Alan about chase effects.

There is a fundemental change I am wishing for that would solve all of your problems.
The cue list for your twinkle would only contain 1 cue (you could even use a single color palette using a look chase),
and that cue or look being what you want every fixture to "twink" to.

How and when the fixtures get to that cue, is currently the problem.

Currently the offset is choosing which cue in the cue list, which...........
you can instantly see the flaw in this if there is only one or two cues in the friggin' list.
Brian Evans - System Specialist - Horizon Control Inc.

Post Reply