Going to backup

Questions on Palette and Light Palette operation and features
Post Reply
Phil
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Sep 16, 2008 1:12 pm

Going to backup

Post by Phil » Wed Sep 17, 2008 1:30 pm

Just a quickie

I'm running a 2min cue, the desk falls over, the backup needs confirmation before taking over the show, the cue is still fading on the backup but no output. So when outputs enabled or confirmation of takeover there is a snap in levels live on stage.

Can the backup automatically takeover with no time delay?

Cheers

User avatar
amoyer
Posts: 380
Joined: Tue Mar 11, 2008 5:28 pm
Location: Oakville, ON

Re: Going to backup

Post by amoyer » Wed Sep 17, 2008 4:12 pm

I haven't tried it while a cue is running, but, if the tracking backup has the outputs enabled, it should automatically take over without the need for confirmation. You will still get the dialog box telling you it is taking over in 5 seconds, but at least this way it should continue the cue. In Hardware Setup | Console there is an item called "Force Outputs at Startup on Recovery". If this is enabled on the tracking backup, it should enable the outputs each time it is restarted without needing confirmation. Just make sure the main desk is up and running first before starting the tracking backup.
Andrew Moyer - Oakville Centre for the Performing Arts
Light Palette Live (v10.8.6)
Rack Palette (v10.8.6)
Classic Palette ii(v10.8.5)

SimonWatson
Posts: 53
Joined: Wed Aug 13, 2008 5:03 am

Re: Going to backup

Post by SimonWatson » Sun Sep 28, 2008 5:14 am

What Phil is talking about is if you are forced to go into backup while a cue is running. If this happens then the levels on the backup continue to change in cue time, but the backup is not outputting anything. If you select the backup to output immediately, you still have as much cue fade without output as it takes for the backup to automatically take over or for you to confirm takeover, which results in a sudden snap change on stage. What I think we need is for the cue to pause until control is completely handed over. Better to have the cue delayed for 5 secs than for a snap change on stage.

BillRichards
Posts: 137
Joined: Thu Oct 11, 2007 11:55 pm
Location: Anywhere close to an airport....

Re: Going to backup

Post by BillRichards » Sun Sep 28, 2008 11:22 am

Phil,

This is very similar to the way the 510 took over from a 520. The basic premise is that the backup has to be sure that the main has really died. Both the GeniusPro and Palette OS's have a time out period to verify that the main is really dead. In both cases this time out is around 7 seconds.

Trying to do it any quicker than that, might lead to the backup taking over when it did not need to, which would be a little undesirable.
Bill Richards - Products and Marketing - Strand Lighting Europe Limited

Post Reply