Browser control

Questions on Palette and Light Palette operation and features
tom
Posts: 224
Joined: Thu Jun 26, 2008 5:30 am
Location: The Netherlands

Browser control

Post by tom » Tue Sep 02, 2008 6:28 am

Browser control,

Can anyone help?

I've made the folder D:/MQWeb, in that folder i've put the file index.html

Which has the link
<a href="http://0/scripts.mq?HC.CueListGo('A/B')">Go Button</a>

But it cant find the script.

"page cannot be displayed" and the script wont run.
Light palette : classic
Nederlands Dans Theater.

"Come forth and thy shalt win eternal happiness", but he came fifth, so he won an electric toaster.

User avatar
JohnGrimshaw
Posts: 1233
Joined: Tue Oct 16, 2007 12:51 pm
Primary Venue / Use: Other
Where I Am: International Man of Mystery
Location: Sydney, Australia
Contact:

Re: Browser control

Post by JohnGrimshaw » Tue Sep 02, 2008 7:28 am

1) Is the Web Server check box checked under Hardware Options?
ConsoleWindow.GIF
ConsoleWindow.GIF (24.45 KiB) Viewed 1913 times
2) I have never tried changing the default web folder into something new. Instead of using your folder, try using the default web folder... d:\web
...and for more entertainment industry trivia and useless facts, just ask:
John Grimshaw
Managing Director
Stage Fast Pty Ltd

tom
Posts: 224
Joined: Thu Jun 26, 2008 5:30 am
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Browser control

Post by tom » Tue Sep 02, 2008 7:44 am

Box is checked,

Tried the other folder, but with the same result.
Light palette : classic
Nederlands Dans Theater.

"Come forth and thy shalt win eternal happiness", but he came fifth, so he won an electric toaster.

User avatar
JohnGrimshaw
Posts: 1233
Joined: Tue Oct 16, 2007 12:51 pm
Primary Venue / Use: Other
Where I Am: International Man of Mystery
Location: Sydney, Australia
Contact:

Re: Browser control

Post by JohnGrimshaw » Tue Sep 02, 2008 7:55 am

The code in the default HTML file looks like this:

Code: Select all

http://0.0.0.0/script.mq?HC.CueListGo('A%20/%20B')
Check to see if you can see the HTML file in the internal web browser. Open internet explorer, and go to the address 127.0.0.1

If that is working, then, you need to make sure in the code that:
1) the IP address is the console you want to control (127.0.0.1 is the loop-back ip, but 0.0.0.0 seems to work)
2) make sure you identify the Cuelist properly in the command HC.CueListGo('CueListName')
...and for more entertainment industry trivia and useless facts, just ask:
John Grimshaw
Managing Director
Stage Fast Pty Ltd

tom
Posts: 224
Joined: Thu Jun 26, 2008 5:30 am
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Browser control

Post by tom » Tue Sep 02, 2008 7:59 am

127.0.0.1 Gives me the same error message

HC.CueListGo('A/B') command tests fine in the variables page.
Light palette : classic
Nederlands Dans Theater.

"Come forth and thy shalt win eternal happiness", but he came fifth, so he won an electric toaster.

User avatar
JohnGrimshaw
Posts: 1233
Joined: Tue Oct 16, 2007 12:51 pm
Primary Venue / Use: Other
Where I Am: International Man of Mystery
Location: Sydney, Australia
Contact:

Re: Browser control

Post by JohnGrimshaw » Tue Sep 02, 2008 8:28 am

tom wrote:127.0.0.1 Gives me the same error message
The problem is in the Web Server then. Try a bunch of classic IT solutions...
- Try a known good html file (make sure the one you have is not corrupted)
- have you rebooted?
- problem with the network?
- have a coffee?
...and for more entertainment industry trivia and useless facts, just ask:
John Grimshaw
Managing Director
Stage Fast Pty Ltd

tom
Posts: 224
Joined: Thu Jun 26, 2008 5:30 am
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Browser control

Post by tom » Tue Sep 02, 2008 8:47 am

Unplug coffee machine, plug back in server?

Thanks for the help, I'll post back here if and when i get it working.
Light palette : classic
Nederlands Dans Theater.

"Come forth and thy shalt win eternal happiness", but he came fifth, so he won an electric toaster.

User avatar
gooze
Posts: 1760
Joined: Tue Dec 18, 2007 12:42 pm
Location: Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Browser control

Post by gooze » Tue Sep 02, 2008 11:18 am

If you go to the windows control panel and hover your mouse over the network icon, you see the current ip-adres of your desk. That is the adres that you need to use. You also need to use the default web-folder. It cannot be named anything else. There used to be a different name in the manual than the folder that was pre-installed on the desk. It is the latter you need to use.
Floriaan Ganzevoort - Lighting designer
THEATERMACHINE design. production. operations.

tom
Posts: 224
Joined: Thu Jun 26, 2008 5:30 am
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Browser control

Post by tom » Tue Sep 02, 2008 12:12 pm

Thanks,

I'm not at workanymore, but i'll try it tomorrow.

To clarify:

I need to use d:/web
not d:/MQWeb as stated in the old literature?

is that case sensitive?
Light palette : classic
Nederlands Dans Theater.

"Come forth and thy shalt win eternal happiness", but he came fifth, so he won an electric toaster.

User avatar
RobertBell
Posts: 2421
Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2007 1:11 pm
Primary Venue / Use: Other
Where I Am: Horizon Control Inc
Location: On the dark side just north of Toronto
Contact:

Re: Browser control

Post by RobertBell » Tue Sep 02, 2008 10:54 pm

d:\web\index.html is what the web server is looking for.

If you see AppWeb.exe is running in the task manager's processor tab and you can't URL into the host machine from another (even though you can ping it), try turning off the firewall (Using Control Panel, Network menus on left hand side).

If that works - you man need to edit the exception list in the firewall after you turn it back on. Delete AppWeb and re-add it (it's in d:\Horizon\WebBrowser)
Robert Bell - Product Manager - Horizon Control Inc.

Post Reply