Page 1 of 1

config old SN1xx with a new Palette

Posted: Thu Jul 17, 2008 7:18 am
by Kuni
Hi there,
some questions that everybody will have in a Systemmix with "old" Strand equipment and the "new" Strand equipment:

Did anyone know a way to config a "old" SN10x (eg. SN104 or SN100) in the new Palette? In the 500-System I can switch to DOS and do the job with IOFTPDOS but I never found a DOS-Box in the new Palette. Is it possible to open a DOS-Box and run IOFTPDOS or IOFTP32 in this Box to config the SN´s?

And the next question:
To config the "old" SN110 I can use the Internetexplorer of the Palette but to update this units I need Telnet and FTP. In the Palette these (Microsoft)-Programms are not free to use. Is there any way to "free" these programms for use them?

greetings
.kuni.

Re: config old SN1xx with a new Palette

Posted: Thu Jul 17, 2008 1:48 pm
by BillRichards
Hi Kuni,

I will give it a whirl here at the office and let you know how I get on.

B.

Re: config old SN1xx with a new Palette

Posted: Thu Jul 17, 2008 1:56 pm
by BillRichards
Hi Kuni,

Just tried it and it seems to work OK.

Create a 220NODE.CFG file with the IP Address of the Palette/Light Palette and a simple Node Name within the 8 Character rule.

Copy IOFTP32.EXE and the 220NODE.CFG file to a USB Memory Stick.

Plug the USB key into the console and use the Windows Explorer to navigate to the USB Memory Stick (probably the F: drive). Double click the IOFTP32.EXE and the terminal window should open. Windows Filewall will probably chime in at that point and ask you if you want to allow IOFTP32 to access the network, select OK and you should then be in business....

B.

Re: config old SN1xx with a new Palette

Posted: Fri Jul 18, 2008 7:14 am
by Kuni
Hi Bill,

that sounds soo easy that I never try this... shame on me :-))

May be it will be a good Idea to install that from Factory side directly on the Light/Palette under "Application" for all the users they use the "old" network.

.kuni.

Re: config old SN1xx with a new Palette

Posted: Fri Jul 18, 2008 7:17 am
by Kuni
Hi Bill,

I forget: What is about the Telnet and FTP?
Booth programs are part of XP, but I never found a way to start them on the L/P.
We need thes programs for updating the SN110, you know.
May bee the best place for them will be also under "Application", or?
.kuni.

Re: config old SN1xx with a new Palette

Posted: Fri Jul 18, 2008 10:07 am
by RobertBell
Bit of a backdoor still open is CTRL-ALT-DEL to get task manager. Then New Task then FTP x.x.x.x

Should work as you don't need privileges to ftp.

Re: config old SN1xx with a new Palette

Posted: Fri Jul 18, 2008 5:04 pm
by TaineGilliam
For Telnet you should be able to use Portable Putty from the Portable Apps guys.

Taine