Patching

Questions on Palette and Light Palette operation and features
Post Reply
User avatar
gooze
Posts: 1760
Joined: Tue Dec 18, 2007 12:42 pm
Location: Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contact:

Patching

Post by gooze » Sat Jun 28, 2008 10:57 am

Let's say you have an existing show with channel 1 -> 7 for Movers,
11->15 for your 1st wash of pars
21->25 for your 2nd wash of pars
91->99 for your front wash
and
101->104 for your cyclights
You have deleted all unused channels to get nice lines in between and for a little bit more screen real-estate.

The theatre did a very nice job and made a hard patch in such a way that dimmer 1 (a.1) is your channel 11 and dimmer 23 is your last cyclight.

Is there anything against typing in patch by fixture [1][1][TRU][1][0][4][@[1][TRU][Enter]?
Or in Patch by Output [1][TRU][2][3][@][1][1][TRU][Enter]

Both have not the desired result at the moment. I think this could be very useful to do a quick softpatch. Any thoughts?
Floriaan Ganzevoort - Lighting designer
THEATERMACHINE design. production. operations.

User avatar
TaineGilliam
Posts: 1183
Joined: Tue Oct 23, 2007 5:15 pm
Location: Cleveland, OH
Contact:

Re: Patching

Post by TaineGilliam » Sat Jun 28, 2008 11:54 pm

Just to clarify in my own mind: you want the range patch to ignore the "gaps" in the existing channels rather than filling them? I can see some benefit for this but also lots of problems. Much of the time it is very handy to have the "missing" fixtures created.

Taine

Post Reply