Page 1 of 1

Deleting a cue and tracking

Posted: Fri Jun 06, 2008 2:45 am
by gafftaper
The director changed some things in the show and I had to delete a blackout cue. However, when I deleted it, things that were turned off by that cue were now left on and tracked through the rest of the show. Is there a delete function that prevents this from happening?

Re: Deleting a cue and tracking

Posted: Fri Jun 06, 2008 7:50 am
by BrianEvans
In the Delete syntax, be sure you use "(S12) Cue Only".

If you are set to the mode that shows dialog boxes (Windows UI),
be sure the "Retain Cue Data" box is checkid in the Record Dialog Box.

Re: Deleting a cue and tracking

Posted: Sat Jun 07, 2008 3:14 am
by gafftaper
I'm not sure which mode I'm in. I tried [shift]+[Delete] and at the bottom of the box was something like "save cue data" is that what you are talking about?

Re: Deleting a cue and tracking

Posted: Sun Jun 08, 2008 5:27 am
by gooze
It is: "Retain cue data" on the bottom of the box and that is the one!
If you don't check that box and delete the cue it is as if the cue was never there, so any channel that was on in the cues before stay on until they are put off in a cue after that.
If you check "Retain cue data", it is as if you just skipped that cue. Anything that happened in that cue will still be happening.
It is like making the next cue temporarily a block cue, delete the cue and then unblock the cue again.